Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 8 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cavanaugh Elementary School 5

Posted April 30, 2016
- a parent
This school does a great job with kids with high functioning autism. My son transferred to Cavanaugh in the middle of 2nd grade. He is graduating from 6th grade this year. It was the best decision we ever made! They have 3 classrooms specifically for kids with high funcitoning autism, and the teachers are very patient and knowledgeable. Ms. Bielser and Mrs. Bell are wonderful. Also, Mr. Needham, the principal, has been nothing but welcoming and assessible from the start. I highly recommed this school!

Cavanaugh Elementary School 5

Posted November 27, 2014
- a parent
This school has amazing students and teachers. We moved here last year and I was very impressed by how the teachers go above and beyond to work with the students in their class. I would not want my children to go anywhere else!


Cavanaugh Elementary School 1

Posted August 21, 2013
- a parent
We moved to this district for what we heard was a great school till we got our special need son and daughter enrolled and after going for 2 whole days on the 3rd day kicked them out and want to bus 5 miles away. My son keepa crying not able to understand what he did wrong since he can not go back no more. And to make it worst we have to meet at that school that would not keep my children to go there and ride the bus. What a waste.

Cavanaugh Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2013
- a parent
Cavanaugh is a truly amazing elementary school! Our daughter attended Cavanuagh, and as the youngest of FIVE children, we have been the most impressed with Cavanaugh over all over public or private schools any of our children have attended! The principal, Mr. Needham, has invested his entire life to this school--including being a student there himself as a boy--and it shows every day in his passion for the school, in the ways he supports the teachers and motivates the students. And, although this is just one of many public elementary schools in Fort Smith, the family feel of Cavanaugh makes it feel like it's in a small town; every teacher and most students knew who my daughter was within weeks of attending Cavanaugh! I really can't say enough good about Cavanaugh, the faculty and staff, and how much I appreciate the amazing impact they have had on our youngest daughter!

Cavanaugh Elementary School 5

Posted April 22, 2009
- a parent
My twins love this school and Mr. Needham is an incredilble principal. They have the most nationally certified teachers in the Fort Smith School District and it is the smallest school. I would give it a 10 if I could.


Cavanaugh Elementary School 5

Posted July 16, 2008
- a parent
My son is in his second year at Cavanaugh and he loves this school. The teacher's are great and the principal is wonderful. My son attended a different school for kindergarten and was bullied there. He loves the kids at Cavanaugh and is much happier there.

Cavanaugh Elementary School 5

Posted May 03, 2004
- a parent
My fourth child is now in the 2nd grade at Cavanaugh, this is our 10th year at this school. The current principal is wonderful and the teacher's are beyond compare. You will not find a more dedicated and caring staff anywhere. This dedication and caring is seen in everyone including the kitchen staff, the volunteers, and everyone in between. Carrie Vance

Cavanaugh Elementary School 5

Posted September 09, 2003
- a parent
Have a 6 year-old in school there and it is a very fine school that works together and a lot of extra activities. The principal is very hard working

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cavanaugh Elementary School
1025 School St, Fort Smith, AR  72908
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. (479) 646-1131
Last modified Cavanaugh Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top