Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

L. A. Chaffin Jr. High School

Public | 7-9 | 793 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 14, 2014

I loved this school! I went there in 7th grade im now a freshman and all the people there are really nice and sweet and i appreciate all the fun things there that happened. And the positivety.


Posted June 9, 2012

Chaffin is about to finish with some major improvements. A science wing, new library, expanded band room (one of the best JR. High bands in the state), I believe the infrastructure will be complete by Fall 2012. This is one of if not the best Junior Highs in the city. We are lucky to live in a city that has great public schools. There are many great choices for a quality education in our city. Public Schools being a great choice for new families moving to this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2011

The school it self is not so bad, but they really need to do something about there vice principal, she is out of control. She is on a power trip and unfairly punishes many of the students. Many parents and students are upset with her targeting certain students. However as for the kids, and most the other staff all is good, just beware and try to stay out of the way of her war path.


Posted August 23, 2008

this school is great wonder teachers and also one of the best bands in the state of arkansas at the jr high level
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 14, 2008

This school is outstanding. The best junior high I've been to and by far has the best teachers there also. The sports team are really good and so are the extra curriculum attivities. Although the principle leadership is something the school needs to work on, it's the best school there is. I've been to about 8 middle schools/junior highs and this is the best when it comes to school lunches to classes. The schedual is different with 8 classes now and shorter passing time but that what makes the students shaper and faster. So far, the best school there is
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 23, 2007

chaffin has wonderful students and wonderful teachers. the school also has a wonderful principal but the vice principle, mrs. biggs, is not so good. she unfairly punishes the kids there. i know because i have seen it happen and it has happened to me. she needs to rethink her boundaries.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2007

Chaffin is an amazing school. Although it has quite a few flaws, Chaffin is an excellent school. I also would like to add that their band is outstanding, but what about their orchestra. It's barely funded for things they need to help teach the students. The sports teams are awesome, Chaffin is constantly winning games and awards. I hardly ever see parents there though, and personally that's good. Most teenagers see school as a time away from their parents whether the enjoy the learning or not.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 7, 2007

I think this really is a great school. The extracurricular activities are great and the parent involvement is even better, but principal leadership is something that's lacking the most. The school hasn't been improved on the outside or inside for a long time. Students still have to get up after they eat in A lunch just so other students can have a place to eat. Last year, there was an editorial in the paper about having tables outside, and there are other various complaints about things at Chaffin, and no one has done a lot to improve the school in that way. I mean, it's a good school, but you should always be able make improvements.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2005

WONDERFULL school! Our family loves this school, several generations have been through here and all have nothing but praise for it. My other complaint is the parking and picking up of the children. There needs to be some form of authority outside when parents are picking up and NO ONE, not even the principals are outside The principals need to be outside at 3:10 everyday!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2005

Great parent involvement. My concern is some of the teaching staff. One teacher in particular has been there many years and continues to belittle and humiliate children in his class. Many parents for years have complained about his behavior, but you nearly need an act of congress to get out of his class. His comments border on emotional abuse. If your child complains of this, listen and pursue to the Administration. Otherwise, I believe for Arkansas it is a good school. Best scores in Fort Smith.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2005

This school is an ok school. I think it would be alot better if they would have more teachers to help kids who dont understand what the teacher is talking about. Also some of the students need councilng but dont have time to go to the conclers offices, i think that you should take time and just have a class that the students could sign up for and then have it on certain days. I would also say that I am wanting to learn more but am scared to ask a teacher. Thank you for taking time to review this.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 2, 2004

Chaffin has a wonderful Geography teacher named Gerri Smith. I just left that school today to go to Kimmons tomorrow! I am in 7th grade.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

292 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

292 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

292 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

266 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

266 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

293 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 64%
Hispanic 12% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 1%
Black 5% 21%
Two or more races 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3025 Massard Rd
Fort Smith, AR 72903
Phone: (479) 452-2226

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT