Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-9
Public district
Fort Smith, AR
Students enrolled: 793
 

3 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


L. A. Chaffin Jr. High School 4

Posted January 14, 2014
- a community member
I loved this school! I went there in 7th grade im now a freshman and all the people there are really nice and sweet and i appreciate all the fun things there that happened. And the positivety.

L. A. Chaffin Jr. High School 5

Posted June 09, 2012
- a parent
Chaffin is about to finish with some major improvements. A science wing, new library, expanded band room (one of the best JR. High bands in the state), I believe the infrastructure will be complete by Fall 2012. This is one of if not the best Junior Highs in the city. We are lucky to live in a city that has great public schools. There are many great choices for a quality education in our city. Public Schools being a great choice for new families moving to this area.


L. A. Chaffin Jr. High School 2

Posted May 07, 2011
- a community member
The school it self is not so bad, but they really need to do something about there vice principal, she is out of control. She is on a power trip and unfairly punishes many of the students. Many parents and students are upset with her targeting certain students. However as for the kids, and most the other staff all is good, just beware and try to stay out of the way of her war path.

L. A. Chaffin Jr. High School 5

Posted August 23, 2008
- a student
this school is great wonder teachers and also one of the best bands in the state of arkansas at the jr high level

L. A. Chaffin Jr. High School 5

Posted June 14, 2008
- a student
This school is outstanding. The best junior high I've been to and by far has the best teachers there also. The sports team are really good and so are the extra curriculum attivities. Although the principle leadership is something the school needs to work on, it's the best school there is. I've been to about 8 middle schools/junior highs and this is the best when it comes to school lunches to classes. The schedual is different with 8 classes now and shorter passing time but that what makes the students shaper and faster. So far, the best school there is


L. A. Chaffin Jr. High School 4

Posted November 23, 2007
- a student
chaffin has wonderful students and wonderful teachers. the school also has a wonderful principal but the vice principle, mrs. biggs, is not so good. she unfairly punishes the kids there. i know because i have seen it happen and it has happened to me. she needs to rethink her boundaries.

L. A. Chaffin Jr. High School 4

Posted January 11, 2007
- a student
Chaffin is an amazing school. Although it has quite a few flaws, Chaffin is an excellent school. I also would like to add that their band is outstanding, but what about their orchestra. It's barely funded for things they need to help teach the students. The sports teams are awesome, Chaffin is constantly winning games and awards. I hardly ever see parents there though, and personally that's good. Most teenagers see school as a time away from their parents whether the enjoy the learning or not.

L. A. Chaffin Jr. High School 3

Posted January 07, 2007
- a student
I think this really is a great school. The extracurricular activities are great and the parent involvement is even better, but principal leadership is something that's lacking the most. The school hasn't been improved on the outside or inside for a long time. Students still have to get up after they eat in A lunch just so other students can have a place to eat. Last year, there was an editorial in the paper about having tables outside, and there are other various complaints about things at Chaffin, and no one has done a lot to improve the school in that way. I mean, it's a good school, but you should always be able make improvements.


L. A. Chaffin Jr. High School 4

Posted March 23, 2005
- a parent
WONDERFULL school! Our family loves this school, several generations have been through here and all have nothing but praise for it. My other complaint is the parking and picking up of the children. There needs to be some form of authority outside when parents are picking up and NO ONE, not even the principals are outside The principals need to be outside at 3:10 everyday!

L. A. Chaffin Jr. High School 3

Posted February 14, 2005
- a parent
Great parent involvement. My concern is some of the teaching staff. One teacher in particular has been there many years and continues to belittle and humiliate children in his class. Many parents for years have complained about his behavior, but you nearly need an act of congress to get out of his class. His comments border on emotional abuse. If your child complains of this, listen and pursue to the Administration. Otherwise, I believe for Arkansas it is a good school. Best scores in Fort Smith.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

L. A. Chaffin Jr. High School
3025 Massard Rd, Fort Smith, AR  72903
(479) 452-2226
Last modified L. A. Chaffin Jr. High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
L. A. Chaffin Jr. High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top