Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dora Kimmons Jr. High School

Public | 7-9 | 860 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

Througout the halls and in the classrooms of this school I have learned many valuable lessons that I will remember as I go through life. -Quinn Craig


Posted January 16, 2011

Kimmons is a nice,clean,popular,awesome school. I love this school. My mom also likes it,too so does my brother.


Posted August 13, 2010

Kimmons Junior High is a great school to send your child to get a good education.


Posted April 30, 2009

This school is very good school which you should send your son/daughter to. It has the best P.E. program and great tutoring program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

kimmons is so awsome theres a lot to learn over there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 11, 2008

I went to this school for my seventh grade year and I loved it. I learned so much and I improved in Volleyball and Basketball. The teachers are great and the Students are even better. I love this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2008

This School is the best. Great School,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

I am a 8th grader at kimmons I love this school and the teachers are awesome
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 16, 2006

I am a freshman at Kimmons this year. I am pleased with all of the great teachers we have at Kimmons. Although I'm not taking any pre-AP classes, I am still doing well and ahead of the classes. I have attended this school for 3 years. This school is great! With a beginning semester of straight 'A's' I'm on my way to starting a great Northside year. I love this School!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2005

This school is the best ever. I was a 9th grader last year and still wish I was there. The teachers are great and this school has great discipline. The coaches treat you well and there are respectful people through out the whole school, I wouldn't go anywhere else. ~Taylor~
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 12, 2004

I'm a 9th grader this year at Kimmons and it is a great school. Taking all Pre-A.P. classes this year strenghing my path toward collge. All the teachers at Kimmons try their hardest to us getting the best grades we can. I would not go any place else!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

296 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

296 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

296 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
18%

2010

 
 
18%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

293 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

293 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

306 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 43% 10%
Black 23% 21%
White 15% 64%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 1%
Two or more races 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 92%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2201 North 50th St
Fort Smith, AR 72904
Phone: (479) 785-2451

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT