Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Greenland Elementary School

Public | K-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 21, 2013

We have been pleased with the 2 teachers our child has had at Greenland. Both have been compassionate toward and invested in their students. Our child has thrived academically. However, I feel that the principal tries to set a tone that DISCOURAGES parents from voicing opinions and concerns. He is a politician that would rather just maintain the status-quo rather than engaging genuinely with parents. Also, I feel there is a tone of intolerance toward people with different backgrounds and appearances. His school motto is "Respect". Well, we have respectfully tried to approach him on more than one occasion, and have not felt respected in return. I would rate him a ZERO if I could. We will be making other arrangements next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2013

Greenland Elementary is an amazing school! Not only are the teachers top-notch, they truly care about our children. Coming from bigger schools myself, I was concerned about such a small school in a small community. I am pleasantly surprised to report my children are receiving a great education in a loving and nuturing environment. Keep up the good work Greenland Pirates!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2009

PTO in our opinion stands for Parent Teacher Organization not Teacher Parent Organization there is at this time not hardley any participation as it is with the meeting starting at 5:00 pm it's hard for any parent to be there if they work. Now they have changed the meetings to 3:30 pm starting in January. Now it will be near impossible for any parent to attend. You pay $5.00 per couple for the PTO membership what good does that do if you can't attend the meetings. The school talks about more parent involment but how is that possible when the only concern is the convicience of the teachers not the parents and the children whom this is intended for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2009

Wow, Mrs. Sherer and Mrs. Cheevers are amazing teachers. They are proffessional and get along really well with the kids. They make learing fun and make every child feel special. I'm really glad I got to know them.


Posted October 15, 2007

I'm very impressed with the attention my child receives. For a small school, Greenland is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2007

Our daughter attended Greenland for 3 years. This year we are sending her somewhere else. The school is disorganized and the curriculum is lacking. In some cases the curriculum is flat out bad. This school sends out notifications for assemblies etc. at the last possible minute making it dificult for working parents toarrange to attend. Teacher turnover rate high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2007

Mr. Arrowood. Thanks for your pleasant comments. I work with yours and every other child in this school every day. Unfortunately, it is not our school that chooses not to teach math this young. It is the state. I promise you that next year, we will have them moving right along with math. First grade has a great focus on math. Your child wont be left behind. Parents of kindergarten children have to try to understand how hard this first year is for their little one. They are leaving parents maybe for the first time, required to learn a whole new set of rules, required to sit still, learn to eat and play together...the list goes on. We have to give them a break somewhere. We certainly don't want to burn them out their first year! You will see your desired results next year, I promise. You will be glad you are here.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted March 16, 2007

I am new to the Greenland School District and have a daughter in kindergarten. I believe Ms. Wyatt is doing a fine job teaching our daughter to read. Communication seems to be fine, extracurricular activities seem to be available, and I have had no problems with the principal. My only wish is that the school district would add mathematics to the kindergarten curriculum. The focus on reading has resulted in extraordinary reading proficiency for our daughter's age. Yet, I don't want her to fall too far behind in math. I'm sure it's a balancing act. Overall, I am happy with our teachers, administration, and involved parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2007

As a parent with kids that attend Greenland schools, I have nothing bad to say about the school at all. The teachers have the chance to educate our kids better than most big school that my older kids have attended. I think disciplining kids with 'love' is fine, but, teachers also need to make sure as well as Mr Lamb the 'love' also needs to have authority the kids need. Teachers and staff need to be firm and yet caring. I know some kids that need that. Farmington runs a tight ship with almost military atmosphere. Maybe Greenland could use a little of that. And we need more male teachers. I don't know why most of our male teachers are leaving, but I feel that Mr Lamb is starting to become the last man on the moon in the elementary school. Lets get the male authority figure back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2005

The new principal is horrible at best. I have no problems with the grade school teachers I have had 5 different onces (5th grader) and only one was extremely sorry. He didnt care for the kids nor what happened in his classroom it was more of a bother to be there with the kids then to teach them. I am proud that my child goes to Greenland--it is for the most part a great family atmosphere minus the principal. They have parents that help with both Girl Scouts and Cub Scouts. The Dad's that coach the baseball teams my son has been on is wonderful, as is the football teams and basketball. I have one that will start kindergarden next fall and I have no qualms about it other than the principal. If he was to go we would have a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2005

Greenland Elementary School is a diamond in the making. What a great place to start your child's education and know that they are truly #1 not as just 'statistics' but as total persons, Every child here is a story yet to be told and both they and their families are genuinely cared about. Don't get lost in the numbers game...raise a 'whole child' at Greenland!
—Submitted by a staff


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 64%
Hispanic 4% 10%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Black 2% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

200 North Sandy Ave
Greenland, AR 72737
Phone: (479) 521-2366

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Eda Head Start Center
Fayetteville, AR



The New School
Fayetteville, AR





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT