Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Greenland High School

Public | 9-12 | 263 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 7, 2011

It's a sorry excuse for a school. No diversity and barely any AP classes offered. It's a pathetic school that should have been closed down years ago. Seriously, what school encourages a student with good grades and a good ACT score to go to a community college over the state's university that is basically 10 minutes away from the high school? Whatever you do, do not let your child go here if you want them to have a decent education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 8, 2010

The only thing really lack at this school (I've been to alot of them and attended this one the longest) is their 'bullying' policy. It's not enforced often enough. Especially if the parents of the bully are decent or major contributors to the district.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 10, 2008

This school tries to work with every child. The large majority of teachers care very much about the students as a school. The district patrons just voted a millage increase to try to make up for the millage that got rolled back. We have good kids, good parents, and every kid gets to shine here.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 25, 2007

I love Greenland I have been going here for a while n I can honestly say I love this school because of the teachers n we are all like a family I mean everybody knows everybody!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 9, 2007

Well lets start here the teaching at greenland for the most part is good but the problem with the faculty is that they say one thing but do the opposite.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 27, 2005

My kids have been going to this school for along time and they love it. Unlike other bigger schools the students here get more student on teacher help rather then not understanding the work. The teachers are wouderful and work well with the kids. My kids have tried other schools but they have told me the wouldn't go back. I have seen big improvements in my kids since attending Greenland High School and my kids are happy so it makes me happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 70% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
63%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 44% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
36%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 72% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 65%
Hispanic 5% 10%
Two or more races 4% 1%
Black 2% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Asian 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A60%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

30 North Sandy Ave
Greenland, AR 72737
Phone: (479) 521-2366

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




West Fork High School
West Fork, AR


Farmington High School
Farmington, AR



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT