Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Hills Middle School

Public | 6-7 | 577 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 1, 2014

My school is the best school and the teachers are very helpfull so far my son is an A student because of the great school...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

best school and faculty in the state


Posted March 3, 2010

The principal and vice principal have an athoritarian attitude towards the students, which leaves the students wishing to rebel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

Except for not having hardly any Gifted and Talented program in the 6th grade and shutting down the Gifted and Talented Program completely in the 7th grade this school is doing fine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2009

I love this school all of the teachers are great and we learn a bunch! Mr.Whitson is doing a fine job that goes for mrs.garvey to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 22, 2007

East Hills is a fantastic school. I have two children at EHMS and both have had a great experience. Academics are emphasized and teachers do a great job and have been available when I have questions or concerns. THey also do a good job keeping parents informed on grades. My son is disabled and EHMS has been very proactive about meeting his needs. I have not had to ask for anything from them - they are asking me what we need! From what I hear from other parents this is very unusual in the public school setting. I would highly recommend EHMS to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2007

This is our children's first year at East Hills and their first year in a public school setting. We are extremely pleased with the principal, his staff, faculty, etc. The lesson plan forum is very nice for parents. The Literacy Night, Math Night, Watch Dog program and other events have been great. Not very high attendance at some which leads me to believe some parents do not stay involved with their children's activities, therefore only see maybe the bad. The only negative I see is the Connected Math program that is being used. Parts of it are okay, but we must get our business leaders of the future back to learning basic math skills and to be quick thinkers. Many parents are struggling trying to help their children understand this connected math concept, and there is no where to turn for tutoring, examples of problems, etc. Overall A+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2007

My second child is currently going through this school. There have been so many changes that have been made in the last year. Fighting has been a big problam this year. They have added meadition as a form of punishment. The education my 2nd son is reciving is lacking. They have changed the curriculum and not fot the better. I do help out with different events and see a lot of disturbiting behavior from the children and teachers looking away or boys will be boys. I do like the idea of being able to go online and see the teachers lesson plans (when they want to fill them out) My son also loves the principal, he does card tricks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2006

This will be my daughter 3rd year at East Hills. I have had nothing but trouble! I was very excited about moving to Greenwood due to hearing very good reviews about the schools. The school district needs to look into this more closely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2006

This is my daughters first year at Greenwood. Fifth grade is challenging enough and being in a new school was really scary. The principal, teachers and students are excellent. This has been a wonderful year. If they are giving too many detentions, then the students must be needing them. My daughter has not gotten one. I would recommend this school to anyone. I agree, people don't realize how good they have it. Try going somewhere else, and see how great East Hills Middle School is. Thank you for making our transition easy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2006

My daughter has had the worst year ever..She hates school, her self esteem is so low that she could care less weather she does the work or not. The teachers are not there for the children they are there for seeing who can give out the most detentions. I hope no one else feels this way but EHMS should not have won Middle School of the Year in 2005. They did not deserve it. It is very sad that the teachers that do care are leaving or retiring. I would like to hope that no more students would have to go through this but I have a feeling there is alot more of this to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2006

First, all you people griping about the school, please take your children out and move to Little Rock and have them go to school there. You'll quickly find out what a great school you have in Greenwood. We moved here last year from Little Rock and could not be more pleased. Our son is finally challenged in school and is actually learning something instead of coming home and complaining about being bored. It would appear the gripers here have their own personal issues with school in general having not done so well themselves (example, 'rampid' is not a word, something reasonably educated people should know). Again, we are very pleased with the school and its focus on positive re-inforcement in the learning process rather than the negativity we found in the Little Rock system. You've got it good here and just don't know it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2005

I agree that this school gives out way too many detentions. I have had 2 children go thru this school, and have one there now. Both my older kids academics and self esteem went down hill from the moment they entered EHMS. This got better for them when they left and went to WellsJrHigh. That's a fact. Now my youngest, who is the best kid a parent could ask for is there and getting detentions!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2005

I have a nephew that goes here and hates it , the teachers are more concerned with detentions and the clothes the kids wear than teaching and caring , things sure have change since I went to Greenwood , and I certianly will not send my son there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 5, 2005

Obviously some of the people who have provided reviews have personal issues that they need to deal with. I have been involved with this school for several years, and I can tell you that this is a very caring and qualified staff. The academics taught are at a very high level, and the teachers care about their students. The teachers receive many hours of training yearly to ensure quality teaching. They have rules for a purpose, which is to ensure that all students are in a quality learning environment. The administrators are very supportive of both the students and staff. Many incentives are offered for all students. They just have to attend school and do their best to qualify. The PTO is outstanding. Perhaps if more parents were involved they would see just how great this school really is. My kids love it here and don't want to go anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2005

Whoever evaluates this school has no clue what really goes on here. All of these awards about how wonderful this school is. It's terrible. What happen to the old school way. Talking to kids, helping them understand what they're doing is wrong or hurtful. The teachers don't care. It's just a pay check. Start caring so the kids might start caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2005

The academics of this school are lacking. There are rules that are pointless. They tell students they can't wear certain things eventhough the hand book says nothing against the wearing of the clothing/cosmetics. They give way to many detentions. Upon the arrival of the new Assistant Principal, students report that things have become much worse. My children and I hated this school. I was so glad when they moved on to Raymond E. Wells Jr. High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2005

I strongly agree that there is alot of bullying going on and for some reason the teachers are to busy to notice.I heard great things about this school before we started here, but I am very disappointed with what I have seen.I am considering taking my child out of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2004

I have a child in this school and am very dissapointed with the lack of education he is recieving. This school loves to hand out dententions left and right. Also bullying seems to be rampid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2004

East Hills is 20 years behind the rest of the world. A confidential conversation with a teacher, where the teacher told me not to tell my child, was relayed to my child by the teacher! A detention was given based on heresay. Calls to the PTA to volunteer aren't even returned. The Vice Principal is a very nice gentleman, however.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 73% in 2013.

284 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

284 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

307 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

307 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

307 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 64%
Hispanic 5% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Black 1% 21%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1211 Wells Dr
Greenwood, AR 72936
Phone: (479) 996-0504

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Charleston High School
Charleston, AR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT