Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Hot Springs, AR
Students enrolled: 713
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hot Springs High School
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
in spite of the financial odds against it, this school strives to provide the best education possible for all students.

Hot Springs High School 4

Posted September 25, 2009
- a student
I graduated for HSHS in 2008. Personally, I believe that it is an exceptional school with lots of opportunities. There are many extracurricular activities to be involved in, as well as advanced classes. The teachers are great and supportive. The school spirit there is incredible. Personally, I would let my future children go there before any other school in Hot Springs, including Lake Hamilton and Lakeside. It is considered an inner city school, but it's because of that fact that makes it even more appealing because it is very diverse which helps students to deal with diversity in society.


Hot Springs High School
no rating

Posted June 17, 2009
- a student
I graduated this school roughly 8 mnths ago and through my brother, there has been some serious issues regarding how teachers act with students. Most teachers now don't care whether or not the student is struggling; they just care about how they present their material to the student. In addition, most of the teachers will state that the student has not tried to get assistance from the teacher when in many cases the student has tried and indeed did seek help from the teacher, but left the student more hindered at the attempt. If you do consider sending your child here, you must prepare for a lack of assistance from teachers and facilty alike. You should also expect a lot of 'wild' stories that can be, believe it or not, are true. This school has a potential to make your child succeed if he is capable, but he will change.

Hot Springs High School
no rating

Posted September 03, 2008
- a parent
When I went to Hot Springs the teacher cared and would help the students they saw that were struggling. The teacher now don't care.

Hot Springs High School
no rating

Posted March 19, 2008
- a parent
We recently moved to Hot Springs last year. May daughter attends Hot Springs High School. They have an excellent academic program. I have had very good experience dealing with the staff. A school is what you make of it. I think Hot Springs High School is a great school.


Hot Springs High School 2

Posted November 28, 2005
- a parent
There are good academic programs available as well as many elective subjects and extracurricular activities. Parental involvement is lacking. The violence and gang problems are horrendous.

Hot Springs High School 4

Posted October 08, 2005
- a student
I am currently attending HSHS in the IB program. This school offers a great education to those willing to learn. This school offers the same prgrams as most other school including core and elective classes such as math, english, science, history, drama, home ec, drivers ed, dance, band, etc. The parents have a great amount of involvement as many of my friends parents are involved. With this new principal(that I am not too fond of)I still belive this is a great school and a leader to those around it. Some issues I have are with tardiness, rudeness, and excessive talking. Our school has a reputation of being a unbehaved school with a bad education, but if you attend or allow your child this priviledge you will see that many things are not what they seem. Go Trojans! *'08*

Hot Springs High School 4

Posted June 06, 2005
- a student
I think that this school has grown in great ways. Many good things are happening at HSHS. New Science building,advance classes,new principal,the booster club is growing an many more great things. I would recommend this school to anyone, because I beleive they will encourage, teach, and motivate children there.


Hot Springs High School 4

Posted February 09, 2005
- a student
I think Hot Springs High School has made huge strives in the recent years with many advanced classes and technical programs that usualy cost money or haveing to be enrolled in a college to obtain (which many other schools in the area dont offer)...The school has very little seriouse discipline problems(other than your occasional saturday school for someone skiping or things to that nature. Hot Springs has a great Technology department your student will learn way more than book smarts at hot springs it is a very diverse Cultural school and a good honest educated staff who care about the student ..Hot Springs has its flaws but most schools do...but overall i see this a a great learning evniroment with many courses to challege your kid or courses to help them simply graduate school...to top it off The trojans have many extra curriclum activities to keep your child of the streets.

Hot Springs High School 5

Posted December 16, 2004
- a student
This is a very good school. My sister was apart of this school unitl we moved. It is very culturally diverse, and a lot of people are friendly. You also have the chance to participate in very advance classes. The students learn a lot being at Hot Springs High School.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hot Springs High School
701 Emory St, Hot Springs, AR  71913
(501) 624-5286
Last modified Hot Springs High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hot Springs High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top