Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hughes High School

Public | 7-12 | 194 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 3, 2014

I sent my 6 year old to this school for MAYBE a month. The school is literally falling apart. They have no playground. The area they did have for the kids to play was right by the road and no fence around it. Those poor kids only had 2 teeter-toters and a marygo-round to play on.. My son had the rudest teacher...maybe its because he was one of the only white students. I felt my son was not getting the education he deserved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

This is the worst place in the world full of racism and hate!! Dont send your children here. Every thing was going great untill racism took over. There are more law suits then teachers here. The worst place on the planet
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 14, 2009

I took over a program here at Hughes in November 2008. I must say this school honestly exceeded my expectations. The students who want to excel try hard and perform admirably. The ones who don't have programs they can attend to attempt and get them to complete their education. I am very proud of the students I teach. There is new administration in place which has a strong no tolerence policy for behavioral issues. If you are looking for a school, don't let looks deceive you. Give Hughes a try- I do not believe you will be disappointed
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 19, 2008

I went to hughes in 2008 and it was the funnest school i could have ever gone to.. The kids were alive and the teachers were helpful.. I would really like to go back but i just can't at this time so yeah.. But if anyone is look at this school for your kids you should totally send them there..
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2008

I am a proud former student of Hughes, I started school there and I graduated from there. I think it is a great school that hit bottom, and is rising back to the top with increasing speed. The number one problem is teachers who do not care about the students, luckly there are only a few. We need more parents to get involved. I now attend college at PCCUA in Stuttgart but my younger brother plays football, and they have the potential to be State Champs one day, that is if the coaches would make practices mandatory. I do have to say that Coach James Wright was the best Football coach Hughes ever seen. Coach Swift and then Coach Jason Carmicheal are the best Basketball coaches Hughes ever seen. But Coach Carmicheal was the most inspring of the two. A proud Blue Devil Honor Graduate, Adrain Richards - Atkins
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2005

I think Hughes High is a pretty decent school with a few exceptions. They have a few good teachers from which my son has learned alot. My only complaints are that the children get to do their Homework in class instead of at home. Therefore, the parents do not know if their child is doing their homework or not. Also, they should be allowed more time to go to lockers and the restroom. Overall, Hughes is a school full of friends and caring staff. Donna Rose
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2005

I am not a parent at hhs, but i have a lot of nieces, nephews, and cousins attending there. I graduated from hughes high school with honors in 2002 and am a senior at the university of arkansas @ pine bluff majoring in biology/pre-med. Personally, i think that this school is very good when it comes to education. Because of their guidance and support, I know what I know about education and education quality. There is nothing wrong with this school. I think that some of the problems is with the parents. Some don't care or even check to see if their child is doing their work or even see if they are doing it right. If you don't care about your child getting an education, then take them out of school. It's that simple. If you do care, make them do their work right!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 20, 2005

I am not a parent at Hughes High School, but I am a current student. Our school is progressing each year and visibly getting better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 13, 2004

I am not a parent, but an esteemed student of it. Hughes is a great school because of some of the privileges given to those who try their best. Also because of some of the teachers: Mr. Buis, Mrs. Hall, Mr. Braddock, Mr. Walker, Ms. Parr, and Mrs. Adcock and of course Mrs. Manning.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 17, 2004

I will admit that I was concerned about my daughters going to school here. We even put them in a private school for one year, but they were both unhappy and did awful in their academics. Since moving them back to Hughes, their grades have exceeded my expectations. The new principal is wonderful. She is exactly what Hughes needed. I believe that if more parents were to get involved in their childrens school work and back the principal, we would have a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2004

Hughes HighSchool is horrible! I am not a parent, I am a concerned student. When kids need extra help in class they dont get it. The new principal (bless her heart)she tries hard but it doesnt work.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 24, 2004

The school is a safe and 'home-like' environment, there is no violence. The majority of the teachers are effective but you have to apply yourself and make the best of it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2003

Hughes High School is a perfect example of getting out what you put in. The achieving students at Hughes High are the ones who do what they are assigned. If a kid wants to earn good grades, he must do the work. Hughes High has some of the best teachers I know! I am well pleased with the progress my child has made in the past 2 years. Hughes is small but there are some advanced placement classes available along with the standard core subjects. Getting a decent education is all about what you put in!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
21%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
4%

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
9%

2010

 
 
0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
25%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 70% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
26%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 44% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
3%

2010

 
 
0%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 72% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
24%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 88% 21%
White 11% 64%
Hispanic 1% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 98%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

310 College St
Hughes, AR 72348
Phone: (870) 339-2580

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Calvary Christian School
Forrest City, AR


Lincoln Middle School
Forrest City, AR


West Junior High School
West Memphis, AR




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT