Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Pulaski High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2014

I am a former student of North Pulaski HS, thankfully, and I don't plan on returning, nor do I encourage anyone else to attend this school. The school has severe lack of class, to put it kindly. I'm a military brat, and I've seen ALL kinds of schools, this being one of the worst. This school is known by others as "Nasty Pulaski" and the extremely sarcastic "Classy Pulaski" they are both suiting nicknames. The school is nasty, and unclean, as well as the students. No school can improve when the students don't care about their future, or respect authority. What makes this problem worse is the lack of desire to change by the principals, and some staff members. Its a shame that the few good teachers at NP have basically given up on it, or been forced to transfer to half decent sister schools. If you have other options other than this school do what you can to save your education. The only thing that has kept this school from falling apart or being completely student ran is the military families that attend, and the few parents who have no other choice, but strive to make a difference. Basically, the school completely lacks discipline, and I severely underfunded, an awful combination.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2014

My school is, okay I guess. There's a lot of bulling that goes on and the teachers do nothing. Its pretty tragic. I wish that the students here cared more about their education. I think that it would make a difference in the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2013

Im not really fond of this school. I have to agree with the other ratings and comments before this one.


Posted June 15, 2011

I wish I never attended this school. It Is terrible, few good teachers. Half of the student do drugs and couldn't care less about their education. It's even worse having to have class with them and their constant disruptions of class. Standards are very low and to me, as a student extremely dissapointing. I feel like I have deserved MUCH more in terms of education. A Lot of the teachers are jokes and should be immediately fired because they are completely useless to anything in he field of education. I don't know what sort of parent these students have, but I can assure you that the majority of these student are future prison inmates. It's saddening and I'm glad that I'm leaving this school, changing states, and on my way to attending a WORTHY private school. Sincerely, a very disappointed former student of NP.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2010

The principal is not a fair person,and is dating the mom of one of his pupils and this i feel is wrong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2010

Wonderful teaching staff. My daughter enjoys attending this school more than any other during her years in the PCSSD school system. The building is a disgrace because of the age and lack of proper attention from the PCSSD. Jacksonville wants it's own school district, and truly needs and deserves it. I have always been an active parent in my children's education and active at the schools they have attended. This school and it's students has been done a great disservice by the PCSSD school board. Regardless, they turn out well rounded young adults who have a chance at a college education if they desire it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

Need to replace administration with ones who care. Most of the teachers I have experience with are good. A few lack communication skills. The band is excellent! The football program needs new coaching staff, ones who actually want to win. It's sad when a mom knows more of what is going wrong on the field than the coach, which is how I feel when I watch the game. All PCSSD schools need to be revamped, but out of the possible high schools my child can attend, this one is the best of the bunch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2009

I love this school it totally rocks, Ive been here for 3 years and this year i will graduate from there! yay 2010
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2009

N.P.H.S. is a Great School. The East Lab held a Prom for the students in (C.B.I.) and it was the BOOM! This event was started about 3-4 years ago by the East Lab teacher Mrs. Trish Whitaker. It gives the students with disabilities the opportunity to experience a Prom, where as they might not have the chance to do so. My foster daughter had the chance this year. It was Great, she has Downs Syndrome and she asked her date to the Prom. I cried as I watched the students interact whith the regular students on the dance floor. They showed no difference in the students. They were crowned as Kings, Queens Prince and Princess, where my daughter won the title as the Prom Princess. North Pulaski High school have issues, but what school does'nt? They have Great Leadership, teachers and Support Staff. Thanks to Chris Jones,the new East Lab Teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

An older school which is in need of repair,a quality education is available for those who apply themselves,great band,underfunded athletic department,absolutely amazing wrestling team,top notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2007

This school has a wonderful band. The school could use some renevating though. But regardless I am honored to wear the Maroon Gold and White of the fighting Falcons.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 9, 2007

The staff and faculty are top notch. Students who want to learn can, since discipline is enforced. The band and drama programs are wonderful and produce the best in the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

I loved this school when I went there. It is the best High School in Pulaski County. The teachers are great and for the most part the students get along. You will not find a better school out here..
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 10, 2006

We are a military family that transfered in from Texas and this school was a shock to say the least. The curriculum is 2-3 years behind, the students have a four letter word vocabulary and require better supervision. Hallways are over-crowded and the school is in need of repair. Extra curricular activities are a plus but under funded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2006

Recently retired military, my dau, Allison, in CBI class graduated May 06.Her Teacher, Mr Hugen, was amazing working w/her & all the other handicap teens.Great school, atmosphere, espirit de corps, and sports agendas.I recommend N Pulaski and Sylvan Hills High Schools to military students because of safety & learning benefits. I'm grateful to entire NPHS staff for making my daughter's HS an exciting learning experience!Elkins Rule!God Bless You & Your Family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2006

I feel that North Pulaski has good intentions where academics are concerned. I think they are years behind on books, band instruments, athletic equipment, desks, etc.. I also feel very strongly about the lack of positive behavior from the boys athletic department. There has to be some changes if this school is ever going to come out of this slump. If something doesn't work, common sense says to do something else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2005

NPHS is a quality educational instution, the academic circurilium is in line with most public and private schools in Arkansas. I feel that most students obtain their goals at NPHS and go on to further their education at excellent higher learning instutions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2005

This is not a great school. Teachers do show favoritism. They also do not send out interim reports in a timely manner. The substitutes do not know the subjects they are trying to teach. The whole Pulaski Co. school district is messed up. They give kids a four day weekend prior to a Federal holiday, yet they have to go to school on the Federal holidays.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

This school is so far behind academically, the desks are older then I am, and their programs offered are sad!! This school is poor and completely outdated! I suggest knocking it down and starting all over.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2005

I don't think that the school it self is the best to send your children to. Some of the teachers don't treat all students fairly and they tend to favor black children over white children and football or basket ball players and cheerleaders over the other students.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 70% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
71%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 44% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
28%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 72% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 64%
Black 39% 21%
Hispanic 5% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

718 Harris Rd
Jacksonville, AR 72076
Phone: (501) 982-9436

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Temple Baptist Academy
Jacksonville, AR


Jacksonville High School
Jacksonville, AR






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT