Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Murrell Taylor Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 25, 2013

I have two Grandchildren attending this school and I am very pleased with the school. The leadership and the teachers are excellent and they continually work with the children to help them improve their academic skills. The Grands love it there.


Posted November 6, 2012

This is a horrible school. Principal is a joke. Teachers refuse to work with you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2012

This is the best elementary school in the city of Jacksonville by far. The entire staff do whatever they can to ensure my kids reach their potential. I've watched some teachers, and they just don't pay teacher enough to do what they do. I love this school, thanks Taylor Tigers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

My son has a hearing loss. He is in a CBI classroom. He also takes PT,OT,and Speech. All the teachers are wonderful in that they work together to enhance my son's learning abilities and knowlege. I just love it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2009

I appreciate the staff at Murrell Taylor. The staff at Taylor is very interested in my child's education. We are informed of our children's progress through notes, phone calls, Edline (online grades, and communication through emails) and the daily agenda. I do know that Murrell Taylor's scores are not through the roof, but we must understand that we all must work as a team. The teachers, those that I have observed are putting forth an awesome effort to educate our children. The children must be encouraged by us, the parents to 'make the grade'. We as parents must continue encouraging our children to do their best in school and continue at home. There is not a lot happening as far as extra activities. I believe this has alot to do with the lack of support from the community. We must support our school. 'Nothing from nothing ...'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

Principal and teaching staff below par. School education performance falls into lower category of measured learning.


Posted August 24, 2005

I have two children enrolled at this school,I have been nothing but pleased with the experience. My children have such a great time and the staff are friendly and offer alot of feedback. I am never in the dark with my childrens' perfomances and progress. The school always has something special going on that keeps my kids interested and excited about education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2005

Hey, Im a parent that has had chidren in this school! I'm about to have another child to particiate in this school! Murrell Taylor has great programs and wonderful, involved teachers. I recommend this school! Trust me!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 84% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
12%

2010

 
 
9%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 59% 21%
White 33% 64%
Hispanic 5% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1401 Murrell Taylor Dr
Jacksonville, AR 72076
Phone: (501) 985-1581

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Temple Baptist Academy
Jacksonville, AR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT