Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Valley View High School

Public | 7-12 & ungraded | 1046 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, April 17, 2014

As a parent of one student who is graduating and another who is still in high school, I can say we are very pleased with the choice we made to send our children here 7 years ago. We used this site to help make our school decision when we moved to Jonesboro from out of state. It represented Valley View accurately. While I'd love to see a few more AP classes offered along with a higher AP pass rate, overall, both my children are prepared (or will be) for college. I love that all ages in the district are located on the same campus; it truly creates a community atmosphere and sense of ownership among students, parents, faculty, and taxpayers. We are all invested in making sure every area of the district excels. The campus is safe; the teachers really know their students; and the administration/school board has done an outstanding job managing the growth. We're blessed in Jonesboro to have several outstanding public school districts, but Valley View Schools are just a cut above the rest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2013

I'm about to be a sophomore at Valley View High School. I've been a Blazer for 7 years now. I find the education levels of VV to be average. And like any other school, there are bullies, which of most are in my class and the upper classmen that just graduated. The lunches are terrible. I'd consider bringing a lunch, but that's my opinion. The teachers sometimes are a little high standard, but all the teachers I had this past year were amazing. The only thing from telling me to never put your child in there would be the kids... But otherwise, our test scores are really impressive and the majority of teachers actually do their job, and we're a little better than the other schools around us.


Posted October 3, 2009

As a parent of 4 students which have attended the school, I find it well balanced with a good focus on education. The teaching staff is excellent and seems to have the welfare of the student in mind which is consistent with test scores and the percentage of students qualifying for scholarships
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

Valley view is a very inspirational school. I have been going there since 3rd grade. I had went to many schools before my years at Valley view and its the only school where i was able to comprehend what the teachers were teaching. I'm now an eighth grader ready to go back to an amazing school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2009

After my oldest on being in a school district that was touted as one of the best but cared more about parent's social standing than in the students education, it is nice to be at Valley View which is outstandingly focused on the students. My children have excelled here with the caring teachers and administration going out of their way to help them transition to a new school and doing whatever is needed to help each child learn and excel. My children's teachers have gone out of their way to find out what interests my children and to build upon that in their lessons. It is amazing the amount of time they spend with each student. An outstanding school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2009

I have gone to multiple schools and Valley View, is the best by far. You don't have to be smart, athletic, or pretty to fit in. There is something for everyone. The teachers are great and so are the people. I am moving this year and it is a shame i really wanted to graduate from such a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 4, 2008

There was a great lack of AP class offerings. The counselor we dealt with knew very little about the courses offered. Also, the state requires a half of a semester of fine arts. Valley View does not offer any single semester courses to meet this requirement. It was also very apparent to me that the school's interest in social status was much greater than that of their interest in education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2007

Valley View is an exceptional school eager to reach every child. The teachers are very caring and will bend over backwards to assist students at any level. Parental involvement is encouraged, while students are taught to be responsible, respectful, and ethical. It is the number 1 school in the state and deserves such!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2007

Valley View is all about money and name brands they are stuck up and full of themselves i give valley view a FFF they are a failure! If i had my choice i would not send my children there They do not deserve to be #1 they also recruit kids to play on their teams.. Please do yourself a favor do not send your children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2007

I can't say enough about Valley View Schools. I have 3 kids from K-12th. My 12th grader made a ACT score of 32 after her Junior year and has a full ride to any college in Arkansas. The principals are there for the parents with an open door and really do care about the kids being treated fairly. There is a lot of parent involvement in all activities. I highly recommend the elementary, intermediate, jr high and high school having experienced them all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2006

this is a great school. some of the teachers are not that great. but overall everything else is great. we are number 1 for a reason.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2005

Creative, motivated, and outstanding teachers. giving, enthusiastic, intelligent students. understanding, supportive, and motivating principal.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 70% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 44% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
61%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 72% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 65%
Hispanic 4% 10%
Asian 2% 1%
Black 2% 21%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A60%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2118 Valley View Dr
Jonesboro, AR 72404
Phone: (870) 935-6361

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Westside High School
Jonesboro, AR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT