Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lead Hill High School

Public | 7-12 | 162 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 13, 2011

This school was closed for 8 days in February due to the weather, yet they still bused the kids to a away basketball game. Where is the academic value of that ? Not only that, but this school is always suffering from financial difficultly, how can they afford to bus kids to a game ? Priorities are messed up !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2006

The thing about Lead Hill High School it s a really good place to get your education and have a wonderful relationship with friends and other families.I graduated 5 years ago with the class of 2000. Yes I played ball but in order to do that my academics had to be good. Its not just about sports there its also about academics. Because with the Knowledge I had from High School I was able to apply all I learned into the navy.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 17, 2005

Lead Hill is where I spent my final two years in High School. I'm currently a junior at Missouri State, and I'm an honor student. My time spent at Lead Hill was great. I was not on any sports teams, but I probably should have been. It is a small school that is trying the best with what it has. Is it the best school, probably not. It however, does have a caring teacher staff. Sports players are always getting an easier ride than regular students, but every school that I went to was like that. When I played sports at other schools, I had it made. Will your child enjoy Lead Hill? Yes, but he/she will not get the same education if say they were to go to Harrison High School. Money goes a long way in the development of children.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 30, 2005

I really hope that last review was a joke. I graduated from Lead Hill in 1998 and was one of perhaps 3-4 to go on to collage. The teachers for the most part were nice and did what they could to educate the students, unfortunately the resources available where severely lacking. The most disturbing aspect of my high school experience was the general lack of ambition of the students, I m not sure if this problem stemmed from the teachers or the parents. The second most disturbing aspect of Lead Hill High School is the fact that they have little to no classes for collage credit. When I got to SMSU almost every freshman arrived with at least 12 hours of collage credit! I certainly did not enjoy starting behind. All in all the school is well meaning but deficient in several important aspects of education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 1, 2005

The truth is, it's not the place for a child who does not have the right last name, or is not a star athlete. Alot of the qualified, caring teachers have already left. After all if we allow bad habits, and spitful attitudes to continue in young people,we could be encouraging that behavior. Sports seems more important here than academics. There are schools out there that cultavate stronge, intelligent, worthy adults and there are those who do not. Parent involvement is there, but not neccessarily the right type. I have been hoping to see a change in this school for years, but it has not come. The children here like all kids deserve better. I have heard they are trying to make the much needed improvements, I pray they will succeed. For the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2004

If you want a close knit community around nothing but sports - go to Lead Hill! I moved in during high school and unfortunately had to graduate from Lead Hill. I found it to be the most illiterate, underpriveldged, lowest ranking, stinking slum. Students who cannot read or write are allowed to graduate as long as they provided the athletic teams a boost. Be prepared to brown nose and bribe so your kid can graduate and look out for the principal. If a sixth grade education level is your goal, here you go! Come to think of it, no one out of Lead Hill has received an athletic scholarship despite the great importance they place on sports. Get a glowing future from Lead Hill! Well, there's my report!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2004

Lead Hill school is really and awesome school we habe a lot of together. Although there isnt just 30 students in my graduating class we make the most of it. I am a senior at Lead Hill and I have lived here for 4 years and it has been the best.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
25%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 70% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 44% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
39%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 99% 64%
Hispanic 1% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Black 0% 21%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6967 Milum Rd
Lead Hill, AR 72644
Phone: (870) 436-5677

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT