Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Poinsett Co. High School

Public | 7-12 & ungraded | 1 student

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 28, 2009

well the school has all the potential to be a wonderful place for education, but due to certain aspects it is being held back. E.P.C has a few teacher who are world class and wonderful at their jobs, and other who just arnt if the teachers focused a little more on students and actually making a differece in lives insted of just passing a test then I believe it would be great. Sports are to highly appreciated in lepanto in all reality we do have wonderful athleats who simple are not that bright. E.P.C could also have a award winning music program if it were handled properly, the band director has done a wonderful job rebuilding the band but it is over looked and underfunded due to sport over stepping....
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 25, 2008

I too, happen to agree that our school has a tendancy to focus more towards the athletic successes rather than the academic. A few years back, my sons class wanted to take an educational field trip , but, were told that the trip would cost to much for fuel. How can that be? The football, basketball, and baseball teams travel throughout their seasons and often travel more than an hour and a half one way to attend games. Why can't we sqeeze in a trip or two for the students who are taking academics seriously?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

The school rewards the kids who play sports more than they reward the honor students. I agree with one of the other bloggers. The local paper had articles about the ballgames every week but there was never an article about the students who are members of the National Honor Society. How can this be? Sports will only get them so far....but education will take them through life.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 29, 2008

The school would be much better if it didn't put so much stock in sports rather than academics. For instance, the Tri-City Tribune had photos of every ballgame but photos of our honor society members were never in the paper. Members of the National Honor Society both Jr. and Sr. should be more important than the football players who make d's and f's. There are so many parents who agree with this. I hope the school leaders read these reviews and I hope they will try to make a change for our smart students and give them more praise for their hard work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2007

The Principal Leadership has drasticaly changed this last year. The discipline is out of control and the schools principles are not in control of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2007

The only problem I have with EPC is it seems to focus more on sports rather than academics and I think that is what hurts our students the most.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2006

While the education may be great for some students all other students are not treated with same respects as other. In this school popularity is the key to success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2005

This school is a very great place for children to learn. the new math program is great for the kids. my chid has done better.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 70% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 44% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
9%

2010

 
 
16%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 72% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 64%
Black 11% 21%
Hispanic 3% 10%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

502 McClellan St
Lepanto, AR 72354
Phone: (870) 475-2331

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT