Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mt St Mary Academy

Private | 9-12 | 486 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Little Rock

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $140,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2013

I graduated from Mount in 2008. I didn't truly appreciate the education I received there until I was in college. I went to the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, and each and everyone of my English teachers (Composition 1, & 2 and World Literature 1 & 2) asked me where I went to High School because of how well I could write a paper and analyze literature (and poetry, etc.). I never struggled in any class where a large portion of my grade was dependent upon writing. Especially once I started 3000 level classes and above, I became very aware that the writing skills I learned at Mount were a cut above the rest. I actually ended up teaching a lot of my friends who didn't go to Mount, how to write papers, do a bibliography, etc. Science for me was the same way! I didn't have to spend a lot of time studying for my Biology, and Biological Anthropology classes/labs because I already knew most of what we had to know! I give a lot of credit to Mount for the fact that I was able to graduate college in 4 years (even with changing majors once) because a lot of people these days take over 4. Also, I am and have always been Protestant; I had no problems with going to a Catholic High School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 15, 2013

We have had a terrible experience at the Mount. My daughter has been cruelly bullied and the administration does not care. I have her in therapy trying to undo the damage. Come to find out that the therapist has treated MANY mount girls for the same reason. This school damages young women. Stay away from Mount.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2011

The homework transition from freshman year to sophomore year was overwhelming. It killed my grade point the first nine weeks and lead to many nervous break downs. The social scene, I recall, was very cliquey. I will praise the principal for stopping the bullying when it was reported very quickly and the bullies were dealt with accordingly. Also, the appreciation of diversity and religious tolerance are not very well promoted. The only chance students get to learn about other cultures is one semester of Global Regions Freshman year and an elective class of World Religions their Senior year. To me, I would think that it would be beneficial to the students if they studied different World Religions and how they are alike and different to the Catholic faith all four years rather than hear the same things they learned in Sunday School or at their Catholic elementary school. The teachers also need to be more creative and excited about what they are teaching if they expect their students to listen. Most are either monotonous or expect the students to learn the subject matter themselves. Its an excelt school, but it needs much improvement.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 16, 2009

Mt St Mary Academy is an excellent high school. We have had daughters there from 1997 through 2009. We sent our daughters there to prepare them academically for college and to have them grow as persons of character in a Christ-centered environment. We could not be more pleased with the outcome. MSM's academic strengths are the english and history depts. Math and Science are less strong, but have been improving in recent years. MSM's athletic program is also very good. If you want to see your daughter grow as a leader, sending her to an all-girls school like MSM is an excellent choice. Lots has been written about the benefits girls get from going to an all-girls high school. From personal experience, we found it to be true. Mount St Mary is an excellent place for girls to find out what kind of person they will become in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2008

I do not believe the school is up to speed in math and science. The English Department seems to be a strong point of the school. I also think it was a mistake to abandon the AP program in favor of the IB program. Most full IB graduates will tell you that they would not recommend the program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2006

I love the school very nice school for girls great education received.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 12, 2004

I am currently a senior at Mount St. Mary and I truly believe that becoming a 'Mountie' was one of the best things that ever happened to me. I have nothing but good things to say and I am proud to be a Mount student. It is because of Mount St. Mary that I have earned over $100,000 in scholarship offerings already and I don't even graduate for another six months. If you choose to send your daughter to Mount St. Mary Academy, you will never regret the decision and neither will she.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2004

Both of my girs attended MSM and had an outstanding education that truly prepared them for the future. I am still active on the Board of Trustees because I appreciate as a parent the foundation they acquired under the Sisters of Mercy and outstanding faculty. I truly believe the Mount is the best Catholic and private school in Arkansas. -Charlene Kaminski
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2004

I was a student at MSM, as was my mother, grandmother, aunts, and great aunts. It is the best private high school in the state- and you not only get a wonderful education- but you make wonderful friends and you keep them. My mother still goes to lunch once a month with her four best girl friends from MSM. It is the only choice for a young girl for high school in the Little Rock area.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 19, 2003

I think this is a wonderful school. It teaches our girls many excellent qualities and values.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 64%
Hispanic 7% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Black 2% 21%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Little Rock
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3224 Kavanaugh Boulevard
Little Rock, AR 72205
Phone: (501) 664-8006

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Hall High School
Little Rock, AR


Lutheran High School
Little Rock, AR





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT