Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Pulaski Academy

Private | PK-12 | 1360 students

We are best known for academic excellence, college prep, athletics, fine arts!
 
 

 
 

Living in Little Rock

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $242,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 12, 2010

My daughter attended PA for PK4 and is now going int o Kindergarten reading, adding, subtracting. She knows punctuation, compound words. I could go on and on, we are THRILLED with the education she is receiving at PA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2010

I am a parent at PA and our child began in the PK-3 program several years ago. PA has been an amazing school for her. What she has learned and her growth has been incredible. The learning environment is a great balance of academics and social emotional. teacher are gifted, experienced, and truly do love the students. We are very strong bonds with parents here and the community is great. Best school in the state!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2010

I am a student at PA and have gone here since I was in Pre-school. PA really excels in academics and also sports and the fine arts. It is very diverse and the students and teachers strive for excellence in their grades and in all else they do. The school is very giving and in fact the middle school recently donated around $4000 to the Red Cross to support Haiti. Once again Pulaski Academy is a magnificent school and I plan to stay here until I graduate.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 9, 2010

I am a graduate of PA. I started there when I was 4 and graduated some time ago. I was one of many 'lifers'. There's a reason we all stayed 14 academic years. I have gotten an unbelievable education that equipped me for a lifetime. I am thrilled to have spent my school years there and I would gladly send my children to PA. The culture has become extremely diverse in recent years and that has greatly added to the PA community.


Posted October 29, 2008

Our child is in Kindergarden at PA. She attended K-4 there last year. The Early Childhood Center (ECC) teachers focus on the joy of learning and on the school's core values. They sing songs about respect and integrity. Our daughter has blossomed there and we will keep her at PA as long as we are here in LR. We hope she is developing life long friendships.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2008

As a student at PA for the past year, I have found that while the school offers exceptional academics, it is not the place to go if you enjoy racial tolerance. In twelve months I have heard enough racial slurs/comments to last me a lifetime, and the lack of diversity only makes matters worse. Many of those students who are not racist are ignorant and do not wish to learn anything about other cultures. In short, parents who want their children to recieve a quality education without sacrificing their children's exposure to different races should consider looking into another school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 23, 2004

My son graduated in 2003 with an outstanding education. He was very well prepared for a private college that is ranked in the top 20 nationally and received a academic scholarship worth over $125,000. PA has a wonderful atmosphere where academic achievement gives a student status instead of marking them for ridicule. My daughter attends there now and is also very happy with a wonderful group of friends and excellent grades. Both of my children have played in their sports program it is also outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

My first son graduated in 2000, started at a private university with over 30 college credit hours and a full paid academic scholarship, my second son graduated in 2003 and is attending a state university on a scholarship, my third child will graduate in 2004 with honors and scholarships. All three are prepared for college, the first two claim that college is so easy. We spent their college fund at the primary level, but, they have confidence and the base to be successful. They also got the honors and scholarships to pay for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

My son graduated this past year, having attended since kindergarten. Throughout his school years, I was consistently impressed with the dedication and professionalism of the teachers and staff, and the students are bright and talented, which encourages friendly competition -- the peer pressure here really works to the parents advantage.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 64%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 1%
Black 6% 21%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 10%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 99% (2012)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Harvard University
Rhodes College
Hendrix College
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
Spanish
Chinese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • 15 National Merit Scholars, 12 Finalists-2009; over 10% of Senior Class National Merit 2011 (2011)
  • Total Merit Scholarship Awards Last 5 years: Over 23 Million

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Matt Walsh
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Internships
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Welcome to PA! Honor Above All – that is the motto of one of the finest independent schools in the country. This statement along with our core values of respect, responsibility, integrity, and excellence are words that define this remarkable school. It is my honor to welcome you to the Pulaski Academy website. Here you will learn about the PA experience. If you are seeking a school with an academic program that leads to our graduates attending the most selective colleges and universities across the country, then you have arrived at your destination. If you are looking for a school that celebrates the arts where our students excel in every aspect of artistic endeavor, then this is the school for you. If you want a school where athletics is central to our mission, then you will want to discover our student athletes at their best. PA students experience all of this and so much more. As a PreK – 12 school we provide the complete educational experience. The website is an excellent way to become acquainted with all that we have to offer. However, to truly get a sense of what a special experience we provide, I invite you to come visit us. Here you will feel at home and begin to sense why we are excited about the future of this truly great school. Go Bruins!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$4000 - $11000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Harvard University
Rhodes College
Hendrix College
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
4 year college - 99%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12701 Hinson Rd
Little Rock, AR 72212
Website: Click here
Phone: (501) 604-1910

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Terry Elementary School
Little Rock, AR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT