Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Little Rock Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 1270 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Little Rock

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $289,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 12, 2013

Some of the people who work at this school are rude and hateful to children and parents. The parents are like the mean girls in high school except worse. For the most part, I have found this school to be superficial and not Christ like.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

The teachers and faculty are very caring and helpful. The environment is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2010

We move from out of state just as the school year was beginning. We were forunate to get a spot for our 2nd grader. From the 1st day we knew LRCA was the right choice. From the enrollment process, to teacher, to principal & administration, all went out of their way to make our son feel part of his new school from Day 1. They communicated to us how he was adjusting to starting to a brand new school & took away any anxiety we had. We're grateful to have found this wonderful school, and appreciate the Christian principles that are being taught & making a difference in shaping our son's view of the world around him. Next year big brother will be joined by our 5 and 4-year olds as they join kindergarten & pre-K.


Posted October 3, 2009

Our school has a Christian, loving atmosphere at a time when many schools can't even discuss God or Jesus. Our teachers are loving, kind, and compassionate and have a heart for teaching! Although our school is large, it is a community where everybody knows everybody and we take care of one another.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2009

This is my daughter's first year at LRCA. We couldn't be happier with the school; the teachers are involved, loving, and make schoolwork and learning something my daughter actually looks forward to. As a parent, I'm amazed at how quickly and how much she is learning! In addition to all they're teaching her in the standard academic areas (which is much more than most schools at this level, in my experience), she is learning to love God and her neighbors more every day. It is truly a safe, happy place for my daughter, and I couldn't be more thankful for that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

Contrary to one of the reviews posted on here, LRCA holds no negative racial stereotypes for an minorities besides Caucasians (at least spell it right!) in my opinion. They embrace God's variety of children and extremely accepting. As a student from 4th to 8th grade, I thoroughly enjoyed the curriculum they set and maintained. Teachers not only teach, they care about the students and make going to school a pleasure. Thanks, LRCA! - W. Gao
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 11, 2008

My daughter joined LRCA during high school. The community is so friendly and she has adjusted very well. But the best news is that the school focuses on learning, not just teaching. Her interest in school work has improved dramatically and her grades are now solid. The homework is relevant and rigorous but she likes what is going on inside the classrooms. I'm a big fan of this wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2008

Very good school but the kids have racial steriotypes about all minorities other than Cocasians.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2008

This is an aweosme school! i just started and they are very accepting,
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 30, 2008

LRCA is a VERY good school! I've been here since kindergarden, and am now finishing my 10th grade year. The teachers are the best because, they care about your learning and your relationship with god. I definetly reccoment LRCA!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 6, 2008

I have been attending Little Rock Christian Acadmey since Kindergarden. It's an amazing enviroment surrounded by caring teachers. They truly care not only about your academics but where God is in your life. It offers a worldview class for High School that enriches students on God's view on worldly topics. I am so blessed to have been placed in this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2008

This K - 12 Christian School has an excellent national reputation for academics, athletics and spiritual growth.


Posted February 2, 2008

My daughter began there as a 9th grader and graduated '07 as a Ntl Merit Finalist. College is costing us nothing due to her education at LRCA. We interviewed several private schools, but few could offer the pace she was on academically. She loved the atmosphere, classmates & teachers. Our son enrolled there this year and loves it. Charlie
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2006

I absolutely love LRCA!!! I have an awesome time during school and at the same time I'm getting a great educaton! LRCA has so much to offer. Plus...we won state champs in basketball!!!! We have a great athletic system goin!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 21, 2005

We LOVE Little Rock Christian! This school is extremely balanced and refreshing! Our children are having fun while learning. Incredible leadership, wonderful teachers and great kids. I would encourage you to check them out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2005

I love Little Rock Christian Academy. I have been a teacher there for 19 years. Both of my children have attende the school. The most important thing they learn here is to have a Christian World View. Onward and Upward. Mrs. N.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2004

My son has attended LCRA since his 1st grade year, and he now in his 10th grade year. I have been very happy with the attention he has received and especially the focus on core courses with particular strengh placed on reading, research, and writing along with strong emphasis on math and science. My son has tested very high scores in sat and I attribute LCRA to much of his preparation. This school produces a high per centage of merit scholars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2004

LRCA has an atmosphere that trains up children to be responsible, thinking adults while they are allowed to be kids. They support the family and assist you in raising children that can support their beliefs. They have a great athletic program as well - from golf to track to soccer as well as baseball, football, and basketball. Well-rounded people are the goal here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2004

LRCA is a really good school. I'm really glad I've stayed there for 9 years and counting. I really love the teachers. It's definatly a very friendly atmosphere. I have the best friends and teachers are always going out of the way to hold us accountable.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 64%
Black 3% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 10%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Best Private School (2005)
  • Best Private School (2007)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American Sign Language
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Gary B. Arnold
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (501) 868-8766

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • American Sign Language
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Ptf (parent-teacher fellowship) warrior club (athletics booster club) band booster club all of these organizations support the school through fundraising efforts.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

19010 Cantrell Road
Little Rock, AR 72223
Website: Click here
Phone: (501) 868-9822

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Chenal Elementary School
Little Rock, AR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT