Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Chenal Valley Montessori School

Private | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Little Rock

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $289,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2013

We have our child in the Pre-K class. Overall a wonderful, engaging environment. The school actively engages parents, teachers respond quickly to questions, students and teachers seem happy to be there and office staff are warm and engaging and know students by name. Excellent experience and we're looking forward to the school year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2012

We sent our daughter here for 1 yr. She learned nothing.. All she did was play and came home with dirty clothes. Kids play outside no matter how hot it is or how cold it is. Small classrooms. Lack of leadership. We transferred to Little Rock Montessori and it's a night & day difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2011

My son attended CVMS at the Cantrell location from age 2.5 to 5. It is an excellent preschool. His teacher Andrea Loyd was simply wonderful. The school has a very loving and nurturing environment with excellent academics. He started kindergarten this fall at a new school and is very well prepared by his years at CVMS. I also wanted to respond to a comment about the summer camp. I too had the same experience when my son first went to summer camp in 2009. The Montessori certified teachers did not run the camp, the aides did, and it was not engaging. We actually pulled my son out after the first half of the summer. However, after that summer, the administration listened to the parent's complaints and the following summer the camp was totally different. There was a Montessori teacher in the classroom every day, with a planned curriculum, that was educational but still fun and more laid back for summer. The kids enjoyed ice cream, pizza and a "splash day" or "dress up" day every Friday. He also got to bring toys from home to school which was a big hit with him. My son loved the summer camp after that and went all summer for 2010 and 2011.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2010

Sad that anyone would give this school a bad review. This school is a wonderful place to put your children. If your children are capable of learning then they will achieve more of an education than expected. The Standardized test scores are above the average. The ladies who run the school are genuinely concerned about the nurturing and education of the children. The daughter doesn't teach she is administrative. Any little concern I have had has been dealt with swiftly and without argument. What school doesn't have it's issues. You can't please everybody. Profit claims are a joke. This is probably the least expensive private school to put your child into unless you are catholic in a catholic school. Monthly fees are low as well as enrollment fees. I have two children there and about to enroll another. They do have montessori training and college degrees.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

Love this school! I have two children that attend and are very confortable. I love the atmosphere, the teachers are very involved with the parents. I love how the children grow concern and care for each other, not only within their classromm, but with all students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

Be cautious. We were initially pleased with this school, but later realized that the students are not well prepared for success either academically at grade level in traditional school settings or socially when they move on. I wish I had pulled them out of cvms by around 4th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2009

We were very pleased with this school until the summer camp started. The children are not engaged and it is nothing more than daycare where the children are more or less left to entertain themselves. This doesn't work with most 2-3 year olds in my opinion. My child used to look forward to school every day and now she resists going. There is also a serious lack of communication by the summer camp 'teachers' (none of whom are Montessori certified) with the parents. On the flip side, during the regular school year, most of the teachers are excellent although some are not. Teaching styles certainly differ and there are some who take a more disciplinarian role rather than the nurturing role I have come to expect from a Montessori School. Fortunately we have been able to avoid this teacher and look forward to another great year in the fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2008

CVMS is wonderful! 2 of my children attended. I am very pleased at the way my children had been taught: personal independence, independence in learning, manners, social manners/skils. and the advance math,science, vocabulary eduaction they provide. I feel that my kids are so much more advance, calm and well-behaved than other children in their group because they started early on at CVMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 64%
Hispanic 14% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 21%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14929 Cantrell Road
Little Rock, AR 72223
Phone: (501) 868-6030

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Pulaski Academy
Little Rock, AR




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT