Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-3|Private
107 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Little Rock Montessori School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted September 17, 2015
- a parent
the aftercare staff is fantastic, they are underpaid and overworked, but always pleasant. A lot of information of school practices can be gained from talking to after care as parents are not allowed into the actual classroom without invitation.

Little Rock Montessori School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted September 17, 2015
- a parent
Our sons teacher was a little out of it to say the least, dizzy and also used her own child as an example of why they want kids on medication


Little Rock Montessori School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted September 17, 2015
- a parent
no homework was ever assigned to our child, only a folder of coloring sheets he completed was brought home

Little Rock Montessori School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted September 17, 2015
- a parent
This school will take you to small claims for any late or unjust charges. Documents signed did not outline complete list of charges, upon refusal of payment they will pursue a injunction against your bank account. Further, they demanded we have a mental evaluation or would not accept our child back for the following semester. Hearing Date has been set. I would also like to add that our child has been performing fantastically in the LRSD, wonderful programs, no behavior issues. The complete lack of structure of this NON CERTIFIED Montessori is a tragedy to children... See :https://amshq.org/ for information on real certified Montessori Further more you will recieve a variety of invoices for items/services you will not have agreed to. Point in case... Had to sign up for summer camp ($90)... And then at the end of June they are now trying to charge $600 for tuition. Tuition? Summer camp is a daycare service they provide (all teachers on summer break). Children and care workers verify there are no lessons. Just play time for 4 weeks unless you pay special for a course provided by a 3rd party contract. Which we did do and the kiddo loved cooking. Back to the point. They are now threatening claims and suit over $600. I told them it was only worth $300 and would be happy to pay that and they said no "pay in full please as we do not want to see you incur court fees. Bottom line, we have no contractual agreement with them for the $600 claimed tuition for summer camp.

Little Rock Montessori School 1

Posted September 17, 2015
- a parent
This school will take you to small claims for any late or unjust charges. Documents signed did not outline complete list of charges, upon refusal of payment they will pursue a injunction against your bank account. Further, they demanded we have a mental evaluation or would not accept our child back for the following semester. Hearing Date has been set. I would also like to add that our child has been performing fantastically in the LRSD, wonderful programs, no behavior issues. The complete lack of structure of this NON CERTIFIED Montessori is a tragedy to children... See :https://amshq.org/ for information on real certified Montessori


Little Rock Montessori School 3

Posted March 10, 2015
- a parent
We heard great things about LRMS before sending our child there. They promised to cater to her needs and told us how child focused they were. While the environment was very safe, she was bored there. When we pointed out that she had progressed far beyond what they were on, the school did nothing to address that. Rather, they just became defensive and went on about the glories of the curriculum. If you have a child who is ahead and likes traditional methods, this is not the school for him/her.

Little Rock Montessori School 3

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
Little Rock Montessori has very high quality teaching. However, they will nickel and dime you to death. They are also extremely inefficient in terms of accounting and billing. As an example, they have monthly tuition rates, snack fees each semester, supply fees each semester, an annual book fee, and an annual building fee. Instead of adding all these fees together and dividing by 12 to give you one monthly rate, they hit you up for very unequal amounts that make planning a budget very difficult. While I may owe $550 in July, I owe $975 in August because of the building fee and snack fee and $775 in September because of the supply fee. It is also incredibly taxing on parent vacation days as they schedule field trips and events that parents are either required to attend or keep their child at home.

Little Rock Montessori School 2

Posted June 06, 2013
- a parent
My husband & I were and still are great supporters of the Montessori concept. We have no complaints about the school as far as education goes. Our complaint is the fact that our daughter would be sent to the nap room if the teacher thought she was not minding in the morning class session. My daughter is not one to sit idle. She was placed in time out 3-6 times a day, and she would be sent to the nap room because the teacher said she "could not deal with her". If my daughter had not brought to my attention the time outs and the fact that she was being sent to the nap room, we would never have been told. My mother witnessed one of the teachers on several occasions yelling at the children. That is unacceptable! My daughter is now in the Little Rock School District and this year she has had zero problems. The teacher recognized early on that my child was finishing her work quickly and found additional activities for her to do until her classmates were finished with an assignment. My daughter was bored at LRMS and even when we asked for additional work we were told no. I am not saying this is a bad school, I am saying that I could not recommend the school after my experience.


Little Rock Montessori School 5

Posted April 18, 2012
- a parent
My son started LRMS in the primary classroom the Monday after he turned 3. He is 6 now and is graduating from kindergarten in a month (his birthday is in October so he was almost 6 when he started kindergarten). He is reading at almost a 3rd grade level. He is solving 4 digit addition problems, subtraction, and learning multiplication. He is a sweet, loving, polite and confident child. I can't say enough good things about the Montessori program and the teachers, staff and director at LRMS. I love that a child's progress is based upon the child's ability and not restricted by his/her age or the level of other children in the class. I highly recommend this school, and have never heard a negative comment from any parent over the past three years. If you have any doubts, I strongly encourage you to drop by and observe the classrooms and ask for parent references.

Little Rock Montessori School 5

Posted November 11, 2011
- a parent
Comments regarding the director could not be less true. Anytime we had a issue it was address immediately. She was there on a daily basis always extending her help even when we had a personal crisis. The teachers went above and beyond to ensure that my child was a whole person. I love the family like environment that the parents created. My son is now sucessful in anohter school because of the strong foundation that he received here. There is not one private school in this city that had nearly as many happy and productive children as this school in particular. I'm sorry if you had a poor experience but none of the negative information listed have a fair basis. I have and will continue to suggest this school for several reasons. If you did a little research all private schools in the local area are happy to take children from this school because they are so well mannered. There is not ONE private school that can make that claim. I am a very informed and proud parent of my child that is a product of this environment.

Nearby schools

Little Rock Montessori School
3704 North Rodney Parham Road, Little Rock, AR  72212
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (501) 225-2428
Last modified Little Rock Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-3
Top