Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-9|Private
70 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

The Montessori method was developed by Dr. Maria Montessori in the early 20th century. The method is centered around the specific developmental needs of the child. Montessori believed that every child learns in her own way and at her own pace. She created a new kind of classroom, called the prepared environment, designed to stimulate the individual interests of the student. Montessori is the only method of education that was developed from observing the child and following the natural desire and needs of a child at every age. More than a century later, River Valley Montessori is honored to be part of her legacy.
August 29, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 53 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Arkansas River Valley Montessori
Develops honesty: no rating

Posted August 29, 2015
- a school leader
Divided into age groups that span several traditional grades, students in Montessori classrooms gain several key benefits from being part of the larger group. The youngest students in each class observe and are helped by the older students both in academic lessons and social skills. The middle group sees themselves as traversing towards the responsibility of the oldest group and also serve somewhat to help the younger students. Finally, students in the oldest group in each class assume leadership roles in classroom jobs and responsibilities and also serve as social and academic leaders.

Arkansas River Valley Montessori
no rating

Posted August 29, 2015
- a school leader
The Montessori method was developed by Dr. Maria Montessori in the early 20th century. The method is centered around the specific developmental needs of the child. Montessori believed that every child learns in her own way and at her own pace. She created a new kind of classroom, called the prepared environment, designed to stimulate the individual interests of the student. Montessori is the only method of education that was developed from observing the child and following the natural desire and needs of a child at every age. More than a century later, River Valley Montessori is honored to be part of her legacy.


Arkansas River Valley Montessori 5

Posted June 26, 2015
- a parent
I discovered this school halfway through its first year of operation. I had already enrolled my child in another Montessori when I discovered River Valley. I was so clear about the difference I saw that I moved my child immediately. We've been part of this school for 12 years. My children have grown and thrived here, having learned social and academic skills I don't see in other kids their age who attend other schools. We love the school and the guides, and have close friendships with parents. Experience and dedication to real Montessori education is what you'll find at RVM. They aren't interested in so-called "fluff" here, and the students are all the better for it!

Arkansas River Valley Montessori 5

Posted June 23, 2015
- a parent
We chose River Valley Montessori after carefully visiting and observing all of the Montessori schools in Little Rock. The difference at RVM was astonishing! The children were calm, peaceful and so engaged in the lessons. There was simply no chaos in any of the classrooms, nor was there the stilted look of students using textbooks or worksheets. My husband suggested we "drop in" a second time and we popped in at lunch. This sold us on RVM, right then and there! We love having teachers who are very experienced and also that the school founders are teaching in the classrooms. We love this school and are happy to be part of a dedicated family community.

Arkansas River Valley Montessori 5

Posted June 14, 2015
- a parent
We couldn't be happier with a school than we are with River Valley Montessori! The school was recommended by a friend a while back and we liked their page on Facebook and were blown away! After observing the classrooms we were sold! Our child loves it there and can't wait to go back when summer is over!


Arkansas River Valley Montessori 5

Posted June 10, 2015
- a community member
We love RVM! Our child is receiving an authentic Montessori education in a warm and caring environment. After touring other Montessori schools around town, we saw something special at RVM. Most of the faculty has been there for a very long time and they are very dedicated to the work they do. This school offers a great education and has a wonderful parent community!

Arkansas River Valley Montessori 5

Posted June 08, 2015
- a parent
Not only is this the best Montessori school in Little Rock, but also the only one that truly follows the Montessori Method and Materials. I was blessed to watch this school blossom from merely an idea to what it is now. This school has the most devoted faculty and staff, a beautifully prepared environment, and deeply values the best interest of every single child that attends. RVM is not just a school, it's a family. It's roots are firmly planted and Little Rock is LUCKY to have such a wonderful place for children. I could not have imagined going to school anywhere else and not only was I academically advanced due to this school's thorough methods, but I also had a much deeper desire for learning, working, independence and responsibility. This school works extensively to build strong, honest, independent and responsible beings, and does so in such a tender way. The primary classroom is carefully prepared and child-centered. The three to six year olds work independently and find much joy in their accomplishments and work. They are also highly self sufficient for what most consider them capable of. This is a direct impact that the primary guide has had on this classroom. She is wise beyond her years and her experience (as well as her heart and compassion) cannot be found anywhere else. They have an amazing and unique elementary classroom, in which upper and lower grades are combined - a transition that has been MORE than successful and practical. This classroom is rich with materials and beautiful lessons from one of the wisest teachers since Dr. Montessori and having such a wide age span allows the older children to soften and guide the youngest in the class. The Adolescent Community also sets RVM apart from the rest. The guide for this class has been with the school for nearly a decade and not only is she brilliant but she deeply understands adolescence - a rare trade. She values their many strengths as well as gently guides them through operating a business, peer relations, and strong academics (and a great deal of humor). Never have I seen more smiling young teenagers than in this classroom. If you are looking for a place that will guide your child towards independence, responsibility, honesty, kindness and a sound moral compass, you have found it - OBSERVE and ABSORB, because nothing like this exists anywhere else.

Arkansas River Valley Montessori 5

Posted June 08, 2015
- a community member
One of the most authentic Montessori Schools in Little Rock. Excellent faculty and staff, proper use of materials, wonderful outside play space. The children are also thriving and happy. Schedule an observation and see it for yourself.


Arkansas River Valley Montessori 1

Posted September 29, 2014
- a parent
This school is truly lacking. There are so many other Montessori school options in the Little Rock area that offer better programs, kinder more well trained guides and updated facilities at a lesser cost. All you have to do is tour a few other schools to realize how outdated the school is in most areas.

Arkansas River Valley Montessori 5

Posted August 02, 2014
- a parent
River Valley Montessori is a great school that takes Montessori education very seriously and does everything by the Montessori book: three-hour work periods, legit materials, trained guides, real self-care responsibilities for the children, and on and on. The best proof of the effectiveness of this school is the grace and courtesy shown by the students, who are always helping each other, and their parents and the school as well. Our five year old has thrived in the primary classroom, and we are re-arranging our family's life plans to enable her to continue to attend this school through high school. If you're looking for an authentic montessori experience and a staff that deeply loves the children it serves, you owe it to yourself to schedule an observation of the classroom in action at River Valley Montessori.

Nearby schools

Arkansas River Valley Montessori
1509 North Pierce Street, Little Rock, AR  72207
(501) 603-0620
Last modified Arkansas River Valley Montessori is a Private school that serves grades PK-9
Top