Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
4 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


E-Stem Public Charter Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted July 21, 2015
- a parent
It is hard to tell due to a lot of turnover and because of the amount of inexperienced teachers they have.

E-Stem Public Charter Middle School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted July 21, 2015
- a parent
One of my kids didn't do any homework, the other one did more. I can't tell if it is the student or the difference in how it is being managed since they are three years apart.


E-Stem Public Charter Middle School 3

Posted July 21, 2015
- a parent
Kids will learn. It has a great balance of race and economic status in the student population. Their stem classes are not strong though. My child is supposedly a great student and liked by his teachers but he would often have detentions, weekly which kept him from what little recess he had. If I tried to address it with the teacher, it was blown off as if that is normal. They advanced kids too fast in math, this year they have supposedly changed that but not until after making a mess with my daughter's education. They may put your child in a high school level course but they aren't teaching well enough and the kid isn't prepared nor are the parents I spoke with understanding that their kid is in a course that will go on their high school transcript.

E-Stem Public Charter Middle School 1

Posted June 29, 2015
- a student
I honestly cannot wait to get out of this hell hole of a school. If you value your mental or physical health, don't go to estem. If you value your freedom of expression and creativity I suggest you run fast. Don't ever go here. You'll regret it

E-Stem Public Charter Middle School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 29, 2015
- a student
I have had multiple nights where I stayed up until six in the morning to finish all the work that was Givin and on the nights that I did try to sleep I cried myself to sleep because of all the stress I am under


E-Stem Public Charter Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted June 29, 2015
- a student
If what you mean by determination you mean staying up all night getting no sleep and sacrificing our mental health to get good grades I guess you could say that. But in my eyes all I see is an administration that pushes the students too hard and doesn't know how to let us express ourselves.

E-Stem Public Charter Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 29, 2015
- a student
At this school, no one respects anyone. Non of the students give each other respect. When it comes to teachers they never get any respect (although mr. Hudd doesn't deserve any respect). It seems like only me and a select group of friends actually ever give the deserving teachers respect.

E-Stem Public Charter Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 29, 2015
- a community member
I'll tell you what this school does do. It tears down every bit of self worth and happiness you have. Despite what the parents say, all this school does is cause me to not want to work anymore because they have convinced me I'm not good enough


E-Stem Public Charter Middle School 2

Posted February 02, 2013
- a community member
I am a former student of Estem Middle. I was disappointed with the school. The academic program was neither challenging nor creative. Perhaps this is due to the fact that my grade was completely overrun with disciplinary issues. It would be unfair to say that the administration did nothing to try and solve these issues, but their methods were appropriate for five year olds and not middle schoolers. I got the feeling that the faculty was overwhelmed and overworked, not surprising since the Estem philosophy was to keep expanding the charter to bring in more students, despite a lack of space to accommodate them. Anyhow, the students definitely ruled the roost when I was there. I often sat in class and watched my classmates pitch spitballs and yell at the teacher without punishment. I hope that the school has worked out some of these issues by now. The best advice I can offer is to not rely on the rainbows and ponies experience that the staff will promise to give you, that was my mistake. Talk to people, a lot of people, about their personal experience with the school. It's the only way you'll get an honest idea of what you're signing up for.

E-Stem Public Charter Middle School 5

Posted June 08, 2012
- a parent
Excellent school. Our kids have been in this school for the past four years. We feel very fortunate to have our kids here. Excellent leadership and a great learning environment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

E-Stem Public Charter Middle School
112 West Third St 2nd Floor, Little Rock, AR  72201
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (501) 374-7836
Last modified E-Stem Public Charter Middle School is a Charter school that serves grades 5-8
Top