Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


M.L. King Magnet Elementary School 2

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
My son who is in Kindergarten goes here. His teacher is Wonderful- Mrs. Durham! She is a excellent teacher. The school itself needs some work and so does the pta. I hardly see the pricipal but the assistant is really nice. If it was not for his teacher I would probably pull my son out. It is not diverse at all and not a lot of school activites or involvment.

M.L. King Magnet Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 16, 2010
- a community member
As a parent of three former students I can tell you that MLK is an excellent and caring school that works to give its student family a safe and caring environment to learn. They go the extra steps that no one pays them to go.


M.L. King Magnet Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 11, 2008
- a parent
I had 4 children attend this school bussed from North Little Rock. I removed my children to move to a neighborhood school.. big mistake!! MLK is the best school that any of my kids have ever attended. Mr Harris the principal knows most if not all students and parents by name, he cares and expects the same of his teachers. The PTA is actively involved and is apparent. If ever given the opportunity to attend, do not pass up. I tried to re-enroll the next year and they were full. I rate 4 stars in all aspects!! Great job, parents, teachers and Mr. Harris!

M.L. King Magnet Elementary School 4

Posted December 15, 2007
- a teacher
King has a wide variety of families and teachers. As a teacher I do what I can to meet the needs of each child, both academically and socially. We have many during and after school activities, such as violin, chess club, drum, piano, and one of the states only elementary EAST computer classrooms! I wouldn't teach anywhere else!

M.L. King Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted January 10, 2007
- a parent
I just love King Elementary! The teachers there have been awesome with my son. This is my son's third year there. He has come along way from Mrs. Purtle's Pre-K class and now in Mrs. Curtis'first grade class. My son is reading and spelling words that I would have never imagined in the first grade. Mr. Harris is a great principal, he interacts well with the parents and students. Dr. King would be proud of the education that the kids are getting at King Elementary.


M.L. King Magnet Elementary School 4

Posted September 19, 2006
- a parent
This is our Third Year @ King. I have been really pleased with the teachers and staff. My daughter loves it. I would like to see more King parents get involved with theird childs education.

M.L. King Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted March 09, 2006
- a parent
This is our 6th year at King. Both of my children attended the PreK and Kindergarten program at King. My son is in the 4th grade this year, and my daughter is in 2nd. My son is reading at 7th grade level, and my daughter is reading at 5th grade level. Though I think every school has it's challenges, I feel that the staff at King does an exceptional job of rising to the occasion, no matter what it is. I have been an active member of the PTA, and have seen the amazing amount of parental involvement in the school. I dread the day that we have to leave King. The teachers and staff have become like family to us. I highly recommend this school to anyone who is looking for a place to give their children an excellent academic foundation for thier future.

M.L. King Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted August 05, 2005
- a parent
We have been at King for three years and love it. My son also had Ms. Jones for kindergarten and she is truly wonderful. Mr. Harriss, the principal, is always visible and calls each student by name. Mr. Joshua and Mrs. Zweis, the music teachers are awesome as well. Lots of parent involvement.


M.L. King Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted March 22, 2005
- a parent
My family and I have been at King for 4 years now and I love it. I have a child in 4th grade and one in kindergarten. Every year has been really exciting. Kindergarten in Mrs. Jones' class was awesome, I wish all students could experience her teaching and her warm personality. She is the reason we decided to stay at King and it was a very good decision. It is located in the middle of Little Rock, minutes from the state capital. Parents are always visible in the school and are encouraged to participate. It's a high intensity magnet school, which I love. My youngest son needed to be challenged and their curriculum was great. Arkansas Children's Hospital is across the street and they volunteer at the school a lot. The students see good role models on a daily basis.

Nearby schools

M.L. King Magnet Elementary School
907 Martin Luther King Jr Blvd, Little Rock, AR  72202
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (501) 447-5100
Last modified M.L. King Magnet Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top