Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Booker Arts Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted October 16, 2011
- a parent
Booker is such a unique school. You will not see it highly advertised and you'll ask around about it, and start to find that many people in Little Rock have had wonderful experiences with it. Booker is easily THE best elementary school in the Central Arkansas area, and if you really want your children to succeed, come visit the school. Ask their amazing office staff if you could tour and learn more about it. How often do you find schools were the teachers actually communicate about the well being of the students, and help plan placement to best fit the children's individual needs. Pick a great and then a teacher at random, you won't find a bad one. Battles, Jeffries, Fair, Morris, Hollum, Keogh, Sheard, Thompson, Summer, are all remarkable educators, and this is just a short list of the wonderful educators you'll see at Booker. If you are considering making a move to a school that truly puts the children's education first, this is the school you want to look at. The PTA offers a wide range of free activities, and you won't feel pressured to buy 14lbs of cookie dough from those folks. Booker was also one of only two schools in LR last year to get the VIPS 60+ award!

Booker Arts Magnet Elementary School 3

Posted May 28, 2010
- a parent
My child has been going to Booker Arts Magnet for 5 years. Even though most of his teachers have been great, there is a real problem with bullying at this school. Not only are students bullied by other students, but they are bullied by cafeteria aides and playground aides as well. There are a few teachers that will not go the extra mile to help your child be successful, but the majority of the teachers are great and truly care about their students.


Booker Arts Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted April 19, 2010
- a teacher
Booker is a fantastic school. Every teacher cares about every child. The academics are the focus and the arts add richness to the students' learning and lives.

Booker Arts Magnet Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a teacher
It's a school that loves children and wants all children to learn.

Booker Arts Magnet Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 26, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is in first grade, having attended Booker last year for kindergarten. The teachers I've met, including her classroom teachers, have all been wonderful. The principal, Dr. Carson, is a class act, as is the vice principal. They concentrate on a solid academic curriculum with the arts in a supplementary role, as it should be. Their behavior incentive programs seem to work (important in a school twice the size of some of the other elementary schools in town). The school isn't as well-equipped with the latest technology as some of the other schools, and this is an area they're hoping to receive enough funding to improve on. The PTA has been very active in past years but not so much last year; we're hoping to bounce back this year. Go Jaguars!


Booker Arts Magnet Elementary School 2

Posted January 23, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Booker Arts Magnet Elementary School 2

Posted January 15, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Booker Arts Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted October 02, 2008
- a parent
My son went to Booker from 1st through 5th grade. My daughter went to Booker from K through 3rd grade. We loved Booker!!! The teachers were extremely loving, and helpful. The Principal, Dr. Carson, and the Asst. Principal, Ms. Willingham, were always so sweet to us, whether we were at school or we ran into them away from school. Even after my son graduated from Elementary school, they still inquired as to how he was doing. They genuinely love their students! I wish all schools were like Booker! My kids have transfered to Private school now. I would have left my daughter at Booker, but with my son in a school across town, I moved them both to make it easier.


Booker Arts Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted August 19, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Booker Arts Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Booker Arts Magnet Elementary School
2016 Barber St, Little Rock, AR  72206
(501) 447-3800
Last modified Booker Arts Magnet Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Booker Arts Magnet Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top