Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dunbar Magnet Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 6, 2013

im going to Dumbar next year and very excited i heared it it a good school.


Posted December 17, 2011

Dunbar is a pretty good school. This is my third year here and I like the G.T. track. I am taking my second year of German and loving it! Frau Smith-Diaz is awesome! The safety aspect is a little twitchy though.


Posted January 28, 2011

Dunbar is a sociable school,, everybody know everything..... Our athletic department is WONDERFUL.. This is my 7th grade year here at Dunbar and i really enjoy it. A school can't get no better than this one


Posted September 8, 2009

Dunbar is a Great school....I love it here...my second year...first day was pretty awkward but it gotten better...What most student like is the Spanish class - Ms.Kratzke...she's awesome! I'm in spanish 1 and it's pretty hard but it's a High School Credit so it's worth it...Safety was strict this year and it's pretty good....
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 2, 2009

This is my first your a Dunbar .At first my choice would have been Horace Mann. Dunbar is the best school ever. I love all of my teachers and staff .At this point I wouldn't mind I WENT TO Horace Mann for one day.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 3, 2009

This is my first year at dunbar and im loving it! At first i wanted to go to hoarce mann middle school and i was alittle disapponted that i didnt get in but now i think it was always meant for me to go to dunbar! I have met alot of new freinds and the teachers are very nice. So how our school would end this sentence and like we always say! Bobcats u know!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2009

This is my first year at Dunbar Magnet Middle School. At first I was so scared to go there and thought that Dunbar would be a bad school! So when I go here it was GREAT!! All teachers help me and principals is great. However some safety need. I have GT classes and it's GREAT and I could take High school credits in MIDDLE SCHOOL!!...BOBCATS U KNOW
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2007

I have 2 children currently attending Dunbar Magnet, and we are very pleased with the education they are getting there. They do a wonderful job of educating gifted students, in particular.They have separate GT classes in English, Math, Social Studies, and Science. Students can take several classes for high school credit; they offer many interesting optional course selections, such as East Lab, advanced science, Orchestra, Sports, Band, art, Foreign Language, for example. It is located next too a wonderful new Central AR library branch, as well. If you want your child to be challenged so they can reach their full potential, Dunbar is an excellent choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 73% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

216 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

216 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

216 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
16%

2010

 
 
13%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

278 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

278 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 83% 21%
White 8% 64%
Hispanic 7% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Fencing
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1100 Wright Ave
Little Rock, AR 72206
Phone: (501) 447-2600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Clara Muhammad School
Little Rock, AR


Little Rock Prep Academy
Little Rock, AR


The Keystone School
Little Rock, AR




St Edwards School
Little Rock, AR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT