Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mann Magnet Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 800 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 29, 2013

My daughter is halfway through her second year at Mann and has had a good experience there so far. The teachers are doing an excellent job in most cases, and my daughter is enjoying her middle school years as much as can be expected. I feel like she will be well prepared for high school. As far as other posters commenting about bullying, we have not personally experienced it at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2010

i wanted to go to this school, i knew a lot of people who trusted this place but i don't trust it too much more although most of the kids at this school i went to elementary school with


Posted May 28, 2010

My child will not be going back to this school next year. She has experienced constant bullying at this school, not only by students but by unprofessional faculty as well. The principal is very unprofessional and does not take parental concerns seriously. As a parent you can only hope that your child does not have to face intimidation and harassment at school, but when it comes from the students and the staff, it's absolutely unacceptable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

I think there is a lot of room for improvement. It seems like this school has a lot of trouble makers and the teachers are not doing anything about it. My son has had a ton of kids pick on him when he started here in 7th grade. His grades have gone down. I am looking for a new school. Although there is one teacher that I love dearly, too bad she is the only one I think is doing a great job out of the 7 teachers my son has!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

The school is good. I am happy with my education luss far but student behavior is a problem. Personally I can find it frusturating that students have what seems to be a complete disregaurd for other students. However, the music programs are wonderful as well as dance and drama. Most teachers are great, and their classes are quite enjoyable.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2008

I disagree with the other parents that have stated that Horace Mann does not adequately prepare students for high school and college. My son, daughter, niece, and newphews have all attended Horace Mann and have wonderful experiences. There is no perfect school public or private. As far as a quality education, dedicated teachers, a multitude of opportunities are concerned...Horace Mann is the best middle school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

Terrible school!! Very racially charged. Black kids get away with everything, and the white kids get picked on, bullied, and they are the ones who get into trouble. Teachers and principals don't return phone calls. His grades suffered, and no one cared. I'm so glad I was able to remove my child. I do not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

Great school, good manners but I think some teachers are partial especially in extra curricular activities. They need to be stong on math coaching and improve science education more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2007

I went to this school last year and will continue going in 7th grade. I enjoyed only two of my teachers. The extra activities are great and the arts and science sides of the school work well. But it terms of saftey it does not do well at all.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 2, 2007

I think this school is good as far as offering extracurricular activities but fails at everything else. Mann is extremely overrated and is not a good school for preparing children for high school (on the Arts side anyway).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2007

My son has had a great experience at Mann. His Science Lab class covers high school subjects and is hands on and fun. He loves going to school and scored in the 90 percentile on the last standardized tests. I think it's Little Rock's best keep secret.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2006

I dont recomment this school to anyone who is looking for a decent public school education. the teachers arent willing to teach The only thing good about this school is the amount of extra chosen activities there are.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 29, 2005

Great opportunity for middle school students. Staff is excellent and environment is extremely diverse and positive. Offers numerous programs for music and science not offered by other schools. I would rate it the best middle school in Little Rock.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2005

The school gives the children many great opportunities to volunteer, clubs, art, dance, orchestra, band, and science labs. The dance teachers, Ms. Presley, and Ms. Smith are WONDERFUL teachers, and role models for the students. However, the lack of leadership by the principle, and lack of dicipline has many teachers, and parents upset. The school has a new building, in which the bathrooms have to be locked at all times, because of students destroying the property. Parent involvement is lacking, and it shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2004

This school is fantastic! It gives students a chance to decide if there more ready to express the scientific or artistic side of there personality.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 73% in 2013.

261 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

261 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
24%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 56% 21%
White 32% 64%
Hispanic 8% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1000 East Roosevelt Rd
Little Rock, AR 72206
Phone: (501) 447-3100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Edwards School
Little Rock, AR


Alternative Agencies
Little Rock, AR



Clara Muhammad School
Little Rock, AR



Little Rock Prep Academy
Little Rock, AR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT