Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pulaski Heights Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 881 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 6, 2014

I am So disappointed in how the teachers treat the children at this school. The yelling and a list of other intimidation tactics the teachers use are of no benefit to these kids. I'm not sure if the other teachers are over worked with this crazy 45 minute class period 8 times a day with 30 plus kids in each class or they just are in the wrong field. Don't get me wrong there are a handful of teachers that do an amazing job and have made such an impact on my child's life but, we are losing more and more of these great teachers to private schools every year. These teachers are struggling with the toxic environment at PHMS. Don't get me started on Common Core!!! The stress my child and many others at this school face daily is overwhelming. Our hope for a good public school education is fading fast. I have two more coming up to middle in the next couple of years but we are looking elsewhere. By the way, we had that same English teacher that someone wrote about below. She was like a soap opera daily but she actually treated the children with respect and concern unlike the other 6th grade English teacher is just spews venom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2013

Please, avoid this school. teacher one year who told stories and literally didn't teach, and went to school crying because her boyfriend broke up with her. A couple of my teachersin year 7 lost lots of my work and caused me to fail, but said it was my fault, when many kids had the same problem. They treated me like an animal, and they did nothing about the bullying. I was threatened every day, and what did they do? Nothing. They just told the girl to be nice, and nothing changed. For improvments, I'd say hire better teachers, ones who actually want to teach and are responsible....


Posted December 13, 2012

I am a student that goes to this school. To me this is one of the best public schools in Arkansas. This is not a joke either. It is literally the one of the best schools in Arkansas. The Arkansas government has actually voted on that. We have the best ACCTAP scores in Arkansas. We have the best faultily and staff and the best security. I persuade every parent to send their student to this school.


Posted August 2, 2011

Great school! All teachers my children have had are awesome. We loved the school secretary. She knows everybody!! My kids complain there are bullies and a lot of problems among students but they have learned to deal with it. We moved so this year they will be in the NLR district so we will miss this school. 6th grade English teacher that is young was my kids favorite teacher and helped them through the transition from elementary to middle school. Keep it up!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2011

I love love love PHMS!!!!!! I also love my english teacher, too! I also think that you do have to be with the right people. I have seen many things that gives you "street smarts" but doesnt necassarily scare you! I am in Pre-Algebra and most things are challenging. ACTAAP was soo easy with help from the staff! If you are considering publis schools, Pulaski Heights all the way! I also want to do sports there and the coaches(and all teachers) are amazing in here field! Also this school ISNT a joke!! I am a real, current student, so take it from me!! i love my PH Panthers!!!!


Posted February 3, 2011

This school is a joke. They treat your child like cattle. They allow gang activity and bullying to happen right in front of them. My child has only been with this school for 3/4 of the school year and they allowed for my child to be attacked and gang threatened by another student and acted as if it was no big deal. The Principal and Vice principals were extremely defensive and acted as if this situation was my child's fault. If you don't want your child bullied do not send them to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2009

I love it! The academic scores, hands-on learning it's great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2009

My daughter is currently in 6th grade this year and has had a wonderful experience at PHMS. I feel the PTA is excellent and the principal and teachers are very qualified. The choice of classes is varied to suit different student interests and needs. I have a second daughter entering PHMS in the fall and she is very excited to go to this great school. Public schools are a wonderful way to get a great education and have your child get to know a diverse group of wonderful people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2007

I have been at Pulaski Heights since 6th grade and I have no other siblings that go there or went there. It is an amazing school some of the best teachers ever. The teach what they have too and more. Never had one bad experince with the teachers. I will always recommend Pulaski Heights.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2006

Pulaski Heights has a great PTA and has some of the best and most experienced teachers. The band is the best, and the art program is in depth and serious.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 17, 2006

This is our first year at phms, it is january, and i can successfully say phms is a great school, i believe it is a great (pre)-transition to high school. Every teacher we have this year in 6th grade is exceptional. The ap math teacher is more than we could have ever expected. We are very, very pleased with this middle school. In our opinion it is #1. Hats off to the principal and his fine staff of teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

I graduated from this school back in 1997, and it has been a tremendous part of my life. I enjoyed every year that I was there. And if I could do it all over again, I would do it in a heartbeat.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 27, 2005

I completed 8th grade in 2002, Pulaski Heights Middle School at the time was a well worn building that had seen close to a century. However on a positive note for current students, the building received a full face lift the summer that I was moving to high school. There was a 7th grade math teacher that was completely unqualified to supervise children and an inept teacher; she was also fired to go along with the face lift. But I received a solid education including a fill technical background though the EAST program which has gotten me a very good job and a wonderful resume.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 26, 2005

I am a current 8th grade student at PHMS. This school is great. I am on the Firecracker team and I have not been happier in all 9 years of public school (K-8). The American History teacher is extremely knowledgeable on the subject. The science is fun and will help students over the internet if they need it. The Algebra teacher (WINGS team) stays in every day except Monday at lunch just to help students who need extra practice. This school is great and if you get the chance go to PH you won't regret it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2004

I have a great concern about the teacher's respect to the students. I had a conference with my child's teachers, and the teachers were very disrespectful to my child with me present. They act as if my child did not have legitimate concerns about the classroom atmosphere or the teacher's presentation of the lesson. The principal prefers to let things get worked out in the classroom. Of course, the teachers see no problem. This has been our worse year! We will survive and catch up later with the next school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2004

This is my daughters first year at pulaski heights middle and she loves it. The teachers are great. I was alittle worried with the transition between elemetary and middle school but no longer.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 73% in 2013.

252 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

252 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

257 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

257 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 65%
Black 45% 21%
Asian 3% 1%
Hispanic 2% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A60%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

401 North Pine St
Little Rock, AR 72205
Phone: (501) 447-3200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Little Rock Prep Academy
Little Rock, AR


Shiloh SDA School
Little Rock, AR



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT