Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fuller Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 547 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 23, 2012

Fuller staff and teachers make this a great learning institution. My first daughter was in the TAG program and loved the challenge, great teacher support. Even after school tutoring, teacher volunteer to stay for the entire class if needed. Parents can sit in. My second daughter is in TAG and loves the teacher fighting for the students. It's cool to be smart here. Behavior problems don't overshadow academics! New laptops and Ipads.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2010

I recently spoke with the media center specialsit, who couln't give me a definitive answer as to when the center would be open. The closest she could come was sometime after orientation. She actually became annoyed when i asked when that would be. Are you kidding me, i wanted to ask, but instead just thanked her for her time. Maybe she was just having a bad day, well morning. Tsk...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

I attend Fuller in the 2009- 2010 school year and i could not ask for a more supportive group of teachers and team mates. Fuller has a greta Tag progfram and even though some of the kids are misbehaved sometimes, Fuller is a great place to attend school. At the begining of thje school year i did not know anyone and nowadays i know everybody and everybody knows me. I LOVE ATTENDING FULLER.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 1, 2009

I miss fuller alot..They taught me everything i wanted and needed to know.Thanks alot&ill never forget my times being with all of my friends.Thanks!Your Student;Naly Yang;)
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 21, 2009

I belive that Fuller is an amazing school but some of the kids have bad disipline. The learning enviroment of the school is wonderful
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 3, 2009

I have a daughter in 6th grade.She is in TAG.The education at this school is fantastic.Students at Fuller get a great view of how to use critidal and logical thinking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2008

Fuller middle School is the best! I am in 7th grade tag and I play on the Football team and am plannimg to try out for the basketball and track teams. I've only been in 7th grade for a week but I can tell that this is going to be a good year already! 6th grade was fun too! Mrs May, Mrs Luth, Mrs Callaway, and Mrs. Runyan were the best 6th Grade TAG teachers a kid could ask for. Being at this school makes Junior high fun!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2008

Hello and dI would like to commemorate the seventh grade tag program. Mrs. Halton, Mrs. Stevens, Mrs. Parker, and Dr. MIller are excellent teachers. As I write this, I would like to talk about the math program of Fuller Middle School. Math Counts was a program that helped me excell in my math skills so I could compete at a state level. I would like to thank all of the teachers that have brought me through the seventh grade and I would like to thank the tag program for making me a smarter student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2008

I am a parent of an 8th grader who not in the 'Amazing' TAG program. My child has worked hard and has gotten decent grades. I find this school geered towards the gifted programs. There is very little parent involvement. How do you expect parent involvement if the teachers don't do their part. You have Edline for the parents to keep up with their kids but if you don't make your teachers use it what good is it. Then when you have a child in trouble why didn't you know about it until it is past the point of help. The office staff is not helpful, they don't know much. What happened to the 8th grade graduation ceremony? Only if your child had an award the parents were invited and had a ceremony, the rest of the grade gets no recognition. Have seen better schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2008

i am a current student at Fuller Middle school....i would have to say that the TAG program is soo far the best ive ever seen... its until you get in the eigth grade where its not the best anymore....sixth and seventh grade RAWKED! . .i would overall say you should send your student there then transfer them out of the eigth grade ...and if you put them in the pre-ap classes it would be harder for them to get a better education..but we have great sports and we go along with what we have.!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 13, 2007

The Explorer Team for 6th grade TAG students is AMAZING! The teachers Mrs.Callaway a.k.a. the mathetician of the group is the most knowledgeable person you'll know is the math queen. Mrs. May a.k.a. The historian is the best history teacher that I ever knew. Everybody did fun activities with her, like Walk Like An Egyptian, if you did your work. Mrs. Runyan was a teacher that had a big influence on my life. She taught me responsibility and respect. The teacher that had a big influence on my life was Mrs.Poe, but she will no longer be teaching.the music courses are also great at Fuller too. Now that I am going to 7th grade I will always miss these teachers, but I will never forget the memories and skills they left for me.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 22, 2007

I am currently in the 7th grade at Fuller. I'm in the TAG program. I love this school. I'm not sure about non-tag students on how well there classes are but mine are great!!!! My sister is in the 6th grade and attends horce mann. my step-mom thinks that is a better school which it is rated higher but i think what makes fuller great is the tag program. if you are in the 7th grade tag you can earn high school credits by doing algebra 1 and geometry in the 8th grade. the teachers are wonderful!! The teachers get involved in everything!! One thing that bothers me is the fighting problem. some teachers stand around and watch b/c there is nothing they can do. it's a middle school thing. I also like how we have block scedule. we have an extra day to do home-work and it is less stressful!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 27, 2006

This school rocks, I am a seventh grade tag student and I loved 6th grade. Mrs. Poe knows her way around english, Mrs. Callaway made math fun for the first time, Mrs. Runyan made me love science, Mrs. May taught me that Martin Luther King Jr. was a peacemaker. This school rocks, From the best student,
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2006

If your student is not in the Tag program it seems as though they are left out of the loop. Teachers do not communicate anything until report cards come out I am very disappointed in Fuller.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2006

As the parent of a current 6th grader in the TAG program and a current 10th grader who went through the TAG program at Fuller, the 6th grade Explorer team is TOPS. There is not a greater group of teachers around. Historically, 7th and 8th grade have not been near as cohesive or strong. Without the TAG program or some other incentive program that attracts students outside of this area, Fuller Middle School would be hard pressed to keep their doors open. Students not in the TAG program benefit greatly from the program through the string orchestra and foreign languages and opportunities to interact with others outside of their circle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2006

As a parent of a child that is not in the TAG program, I can tell you that you will get too many schedule and teacher changes in the first nine weeks that if he or she is a child that requires anything other than standard curriculum to stay afloat, it will be the second nine weeks before you can count on getting a quality conference. If you have one at the first of school to meet and discuss their unique challenges, they will switch teachers on you, and will have to keep going back. It hurts a child and parent when they say they really like a teacher and you see a fresh attitude towards their work, and have them come home just to find out they have moved to a TAG class. The truth is those 'average children' need exceptional teachers to inspire them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2006

I am at Fuller Middle School right now and this is my first year.The teachers are great and I think people have access to putting bad stuff on this but I have experienced it.You have electives and everything! You have a better education here than in any other school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2006

I don't think my son is getting the education he needs. The teachers do not always give good feed back until grades are posted. I feel no one care abuot my son unless your are in TAG. I really feel education is important and that all teachers should have some way to contact besides a phone. R Lindell
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2006

I attended Fuller for 6th, 7th, and most of 8th grade. 6th grade was very good. I was in the advanced classes, and the teachers were great. 7th grade was much like 6th, except we did more hands on activities. 8th grade was okay. I did well in all of my classes except math. The teacher refused to explain how to do the procedures for answering equations. I was failing. My parent had many meetings with the principal and said teacher. Nothing changed. I had to switch schools. I am now doing very well in my math class.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 7, 2006

Fuller is quite a unique school. Gifted students excel there, especially if they start out on the Explorer Team and continue on as TAG students all through school. The teachers really seem to connect with kids and do their best with helping us out. I loved being in band and orchestra there. Who doesn't love playing an instrument and learning to read music? We had a lot of activites to get us involved in what we were doing. It's a great place to go to school, especially since the student gets to express his or her creativity when they take elective classes. These include French or Spanish, orchestra, band, choir, multiple art classes, sports, etc., etc.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 73% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
15%

2010

 
 
18%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 58% 21%
White 35% 65%
Hispanic 5% 10%
Asian 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/A60%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

808 East Dixon Rd
Little Rock, AR 72206
Phone: (501) 490-5730

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Clara Muhammad School
Little Rock, AR



St. Edwards School
Little Rock, AR


Alternative Agencies
Little Rock, AR



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT