Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Joe T. Robinson High School

Public | 9-12 | 456 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 18, 2014

Robinson is a hidden gem! The only public school in West Little Rock is a fabulous school! We moved our son out of one of the local private schools in 10th grade. He said he wished we had moved him to Robinson MUCH sooner! The district is getting us new student desks throughout the school, as well as new teacher desks! The gym was recently renovated, the baseball and softball fields are being completed as well. We have new curtains in the auditorium and the facade will be updated over spring break! It's a great time to be a Senator!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

I just recently graduated from Robinson. It was probably some of the best memories in my life. A lot of that was because of the opportunities I was given there. It's only bad if you don't take advantage of those opportunities. There are great teachers and students that treat each other like family and with respect. In my four years, I've never had a problem with anybody at Joe T. Thanks to one of the only shop classes left in the state, I learned many different life skills and other job related skills. Because of this school, I am the person I am today. The people that give Joe T. a bad name, don't know what they are talking about. Definitely a great school.


Posted July 23, 2013

RHS is a good school. It's similar to many urban schools...lack of funding sometimes, but that's everywhere these days with President Obama & the Common Core gang. You naje do with what you have & RHS has done just that with thriving local business/school partnerships. Mrs. Bailey is a fair & understanding principal, and Mr. Lowe is a great man Friday to her leadership. The students have improved scholastically & behaviorally in the last five years, and there is less riffraff than at "other" LRSD & PCSSD high schools. Robinson has a rural feel to it and that's a good thing for all students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 21, 2013

Horrible school! If you live within the boundaries for this school & you can, send your child elsewhere or home school. I was warned by people when I moved here but sent my child anyway. Learned my lesson the hard way. Many details I could give for my reasoning here, but I will just say the principal is in denial about the problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

No problems! Mrs. Bailey (principal) is doing an excellent job! My daughter's ACT was fabulous, she is working hard and having a great time! The district did a lot of work on the school over the summer. Why anyone would send their kid to private school is beyond me and totally unnecessary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

All of my teachers (except for one and she has been sick) are exceptional! They are caring, hard working and good people. I have worked hard and learned a lot!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 19, 2009

My son does very well academically at RHS. I'm glad that he in enrolled in the AP courses. They are rigorous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2009

This is a great school! They have some of the best teachers here. My kids go here, we are so proud to say that we attend Robinson High School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

I go here and I really don't like the school. It doesn't really have any good teach.s and the only good ones the students run over. so if you move into the school dis. Don't go here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2008

School has made improvements, but not enough. I will say that the principle has made improvement, but needs to be more accepting of the students. She does not put herself in other people's shoes and try to understand their side of the story. School is run down though. Needs updates in technology that allow we students to further our learning. Many teachers are also coaches, which causes them to take many days off that take from the students learning. Some teachers and staff are rude, and when put into question about it, no action is taken.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 8, 2008

If Ms. Marha Cothren is an example of your teachers, I wish that my grandchildren were attending your school. Ms. Cothren, thank you for your attitude toward veterans and those currently serving in the military. I'm a veteran of Vietnam, and admire those who recognize military service for what it is. I served with folks from your area, and I hope they're still around to hear what you're doing. Thank you. Sincerely, Loren Gee, Olympia, Washington.


Posted September 17, 2007

Robinson HS is a great school and recently walls have been repainted and they are working on further improvements. The teachers are fantastic and I couldnt ask for better
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2006

School is the experimentation schoo, the administration is very lax, unorganized, and rude, low teacher expectation and over crowded, the condition of the building is very bad, and teachers sometimes aren't qualified. My first kid they lost her school records completely after Graduation, according to their records she never even went there, all of my kids had to fight the last month of school to prove they qualified for a diploma.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2006

I have found that many of the teachers are willing to give struggling students extra assistance if I am concerned enough to stay in contact with them. These teachers will go way beyond required duties. But as a parent it is my responsibility to be involved in my child's education. It is my child's responsibility to take advantage of the extra help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2005

Teacher involvement for some teachers is minimal. It seems that they look upon their job as if they were factory workers, 8 to 4, doing just enough to get by.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2005

The school is in need of repair very badly, the teachers are unobservant most of the time to what actually happens in the classes, and the administration does its job.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 6, 2004

Good school, ok teachers, some school fights
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 70% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 44% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
22%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 72% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 64%
Black 41% 21%
Hispanic 5% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

21501 Hwy 10
Little Rock, AR 72223
Phone: (501) 868-2400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Pulaski Academy
Little Rock, AR




Oak Grove High School
North Little Rock, AR


Lisa Academy High
Little Rock, AR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT