Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Marion High School

Public | 10-12 & ungraded | 5 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 7, 2014

Absolutely horrible. I don't know that a jail has more rules. I felt like a prisoner rather than a student


Posted February 8, 2014

My child has high functioning autism and struggles with inattentive ADHD, and at my urging the school did further testing. My child was diagnosed with a learning disability associated with memory. They were willing to do the standard things like allow extra time on tests if my child requests it (my child is never going to speak up), and a study hall that allows extra time to do homework while things are fresh in the mind, etc. When it came to accommodating my child for problems with memory, such as giving m teacher created guides to complicated steps and formulas, that my child is incapable of memorizing, to use with tests, they refuse to allow anything of the sort. My child's grades are suffering because of this. Some people involved stated that this cannot be allowed in advanced classes, but I don't think they would ever allow it in regular classrooms. The teachers are aware that my child will never initiate an exchange with them if there is a problem, but none have reached out to make sure there are no problems, which was another accommodation on the plan. Only one teacher bothers to call me if there are any issues. Only a couple have ever responded to any of my emails.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

My daughter graduated there 10 years ago and now my step-daughter attends the high school. The teachers are great and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2010

I am a former student of Marion High School. Although there are teachers that are great people and fully qualified, it's only a handful. I went through the honors core classes and it was a joke. The math and science departments are pitiful. I went to a private college out of state and the difference in my education and that of my peers is ridiculous. It may be better than the schools around it, but it is definitely below average nationwide.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2009

Marion High School is abosutely wonderful! Teachers, coaches,counselors and the entire staff are exceptionally great. They really care about our children and there education!!! They go above and beyond with the students at any given time. They prepare them for college, to continue on with there education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2007

I was a student at this school once. I loved it and it is a very good school.


Posted July 12, 2005

it is a very good school. you can do anything you please, as long as it isn't breaking the rules. the band is one of the best in state. they also have art and alot of different sports, we even just got ultimate frisbee. there are also many clubs for student involvement. i can't wait to graduate from it and say that i was a patriot!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 70% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
50%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 44% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
40%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 72% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 64%
Black 44% 21%
Hispanic 2% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Patriot Dr
Marion, AR 72364
Phone: (870) 739-5130

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

West Memphis Christian
West Memphis, AR



West Memphis High School
West Memphis, AR





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT