Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Marked Tree High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 163 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 29, 2013

The teachers here are excellent! They have new and improved teachers that get to the facts and the fairies! They have helped my child in so many ways that I cant even explain! I was letting my child go to Trumann but all he getting was a MacBook and they told him to learn! Marked Tree has given thier students thier own laptops and push them to next level! When my child was attending Trumann school, He came home with all good grades! He was a all A's student BUT they was giving him stuff for like 3rd graders! My son is in the 8th grade and yall are just now teaching him his verbs & Nouns! So we moved to Marked Tree and instead of them teaching a grade under, they're teaching a grade or two above! I love it! Also the New Tech thing is also working out for him too! He is now a member of 3 different honorable clubs at Marked Tree also. Thanks Marked Tree High School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2012

My son went to marked tree high school for half his senior year...helped with the yearbook and took lots of pictures and was in lots of pictures....but when we went to get the yearbook...they cut him completely out of the yearbook....it was like he never was there....what kind of school does that? Not a very nice school at all!!!!!! Paula Byers mother of a student
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2011

MMarked Tree HS was a popularity contest not a school. The school faculty made it almost impossible to do because I didn't quite fit the mold. I left there and finished in southern florida on my own. I actually excelled once I got away from Marked tree. I have went on to excell in life no thanks to marked tree. Drive on by.


Posted April 19, 2009

I do not recommend this school to anyone. The instructors are unprofessional and do not spend enough time actually teaching. My children love it because they have recess all of the time. sad, sad, sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2008

I am an alum of Marked Tree High School & I can most assuredly say that the skills I learned there helped me succeed in college. There was as much emphasis on academia as there was on the athletic program. The music & art programs produced many successful people.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 19, 2006

The school has music and art programs. It also has sports and ROTC programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2005

I'm a former student from Marked Tree High School and I have always enjoyed being there. The academic programs are the best and the other classes are great. Every parent of the kids there at the school all always involved with the teachers and students. The teacher's are also the greatest. My favorite teacher's were all my teachers I had when I was in High School. I also loved my principal and the assistant counslor Mrs. Duvall. So..if I was a parent I would definitely put my kids in school at Marked Tree High School. Thanks for all your help down the line. ~*~ Crystal Wilson~*~ Class of 2003
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 7, 2005

I am very pleased with Marked Tree High Schools performance. Being a Home School Parent of a 7th grader I had some reservations when I enrolled my son. I was afraid he would fall behind, but the teachers and staff have not dissapointed me or my son. Thank you, to everyone at MTHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2004

As a former student a Marked Tree High School, I feel the school needs alot of work to get it to where learning is more than things such as football for exsample. And as has a parent of a future student I would like to see the teachers try with ALL STUENTS not just those, I hate too say this, who have parents of say so with the school board members. At a public school I feel that who your parents maybe has nothing to do with the way you are treated in the class room. And one more thing I really hate too say is that I feel the only way my chid will have a chance at learning anything is that me and my huband pick up our family and move to a new town. Which if it comes down to it I will do. Thank You
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 70% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
71%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 44% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
33%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 72% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 64%
Black 28% 21%
Hispanic 1% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Softball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

406 Saint Francis St
Marked Tree, AR 72365
Phone: (501) 358-2891

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Harrisburg High School
Harrisburg, AR




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT