Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Academics Plus Charter School

Charter | K-6 | 337 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 20, 2008

I think that the Principal Leadership is 4 stars
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

A great atmosphere for learning. The teachers and children want to be there. The children want to do well, and are enjoying themselves at the same time. Quiet students are not looked as 'good' and 'having no trouble', paid attention to so not lost in the system. Respect for all factors highly. Very few problems with discipline. Leadership very involved and obvious.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2006

My child learned quite a bit while at the school for a year. The buildings are run down though and that was the major negative. Also several of the best teachers have left
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2006

Come to this school! Troubles from the past still plague this school, but the effort recently made by students and parents to overcome the mess from the past administration show how important they feel this school is for their education. The education standards are high, a much needed change from other area schools. The environment is safe and promotes success, also a needed change. Come to this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2006

Poor Management, Negative Press.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2005

Academics plus is certainly not for everyone because the academic expectations are above the norm. My daughter has been a student here for the past 4 years and even though the school has had some administrative problems, which are now solved, she has always had great teachers. The opportunity to get a concurrent two year degree is awesome and the fact of a partnership with a state university for a 2 year scholarship to complete her degree makes this school head and shoulders above any other opportunity out there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

What a horrible 'academic facility' this place proved to be. Giving this so-called school a chance was the worst thing I've ever done, as far as handling my daughter's school career.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2004

My daughter has been a student at Academics Plus for the past three years. We are extremely happy with all aspects of the school. My daughter is challenged by the rigorous curriculum, and has been accepted into the A/P college courses offered to 9th grade students. The teachers and administration are wonderful, and the small school environment is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2004

Our two children attend this school for 5 months. The school was so horribly run, very unprofessional, the administrator's adgenda was clearly political and not educational. We attempted to work with the school for change and none was made. The academic goals were lofy, but unmet. Our children were professionally tested when they we pulled them out and were exactly 5 months behind academically after being honor students in their old schools. The supervision was severely lacking. Our children were academically broken from the lack of caring if they learned the material or not. It has taken them months of a positive new school to get caught up and enjoy the learning experience again. We give it (-) 10 stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2004

It was horrible. They are definately not near as great of a school as they make themselves out to be. Their academic agenda is most certainly not even up to the level of other middle school in the area. It is a very big disappointment, and I would not recommend that you send your child here if you care about their well being or academic acheivement at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

The school day is long but they have some interesting electives at the end of the day on Monday through Thursday and all day on Friday (a shorter day Friday also). I decided I'd ra her have my child in a longer school day than riding a bus to another school, my other choice! Definitely safer and more personal attention than the public school choices in the area. Teaching methods do not seem particularly creative or unusual. It is a standard college prep. type environment, with uniforms, etc. But although there are high standards for discipline, in some ways the kids can get away with some minor things they can't do in the public schools just because there isn't any major problem with discipline, so there is no fear that a small altercation will break out into an actual fight. If you're seriously into bigtime sports don't go here, there is a small soccer team and basketball but no football, cheerleaders, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 84% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 73% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 65%
Black 20% 21%
Hispanic 5% 10%
Asian 3% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A60%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

900 Edgewood Dr
Maumelle, AR 72113
Phone: (501) 851-3333

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Oak Grove Elementary School
North Little Rock, AR




Crystal Hill Elementary School
North Little Rock, AR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT