Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Academics Plus Charter School

Charter | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 9, 2014

Wonderful elementary school. The teachers are great and caring. They have enrichment classes after school in many different areas of interest. The academics part is way above par. They expect the children to be a grade level and a half above where they are. Help is needed if they are falling behind. The high school is great and challenging with one exception being math. My son had four different math teachers last year alone. This year they tried to fix the problem with hiring a teacher that had college level teaching experience. She however does not know how to teach to the younger students and it has been a struggle from day one. If they can fix this one issue with math then I would give them an A+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2014

Excellent school. Great kids! The faculty is caring and professional. Lots of communication with parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2014

Awesome, caring, nurturing, holds students accountable! Supportive teachers, faculty and staff! Awesome school! Academics Plus is teaching more than just how to be a good student! Character education in important at AP as well as academics!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2014

We love Academics Plus! It is a safe, nurturing environment as well as academically challenging. The teachers are wonderful, and the elementary principal, Mrs. Gross, is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2014

We have been so pleased with APCS! We fill so good knowing our child is safe and surrounded by wonderful teachers and a great staff. Could not be more pleased with the education he is receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2014

APCS is a great school with the best team of dedicated teachers. It has a small town community feel with K-12 on one campus. The kids are pushed academically, but also really treated as individuals. We are so glad we made the choice to enroll our children at APCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2014

APCS is a wonderful school which focuses on what is best for each child. The school environment is more like a family and everyone knows and cares about eachother.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 29, 2013

You won't find a better school with more caring teachers and staff than APCS! From K - 12, all it has a community feel where everyone plays a important part in the educational process.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

This is a GREAT school. Before teaching here, I was a substitute in several other districts. I am AMAZED at the hard work, dedication and long hours of the teachers here. They could ALL make a lot more money at a non-charter school, but they are dedicated to the children here. There aren't enough words to describe how wonderful these teachers are.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 21, 2013

APCS really is an extraordinary place for children to learn and grow into who they will someday become. Our teachers here are highly qualified and offer rigorous instructional content, while at the same time taking a real interest in each child as an individual person. The administration is wonderful and works tirelessly to enable the staff to do what they do best. The number of students in each class is carefully monitored to ensure that each student is well equipped with the skills he/she needs to be successful in today's learning environment. Ours is a data driven campus and we work hard to safeguard that each student is achieving at his/her learning potential. Being challenged and being able to meet those challenges with a positive rate of success is what learning is all about. Challenges are met here at APCS in a caring and supportive way where children feel safe to take a risk and just be themselves. It's amazing to see students encourage and support each other's learning. Our students know that if they fall, as we all do in life, there are many who will help them get right back up again. Learning, growing, achieving our goals...Come learn with us at APCS, Maumelle, AR.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 5, 2013

Great safe environment. New elementary building with latest technology available to support instructional materials. Open to students regardless of their place of residency nor ethnicity. Great staff and parents involvment as well as the support of the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

Academics Plus is a great school! Re: January 16 Yes, there is a middle and high school band. But, that is just the beginning of extracurricular activities at APCS. Your children may be interested in middle or high school basketball. They would practice at the community center. Not into band or basketball? How about one of the following clubs: archery, chess, cheerleading, robotics ....to name a few. The academics are challenging and presented in a way that the kids are able to see real life applications. For example, my son just finished a math project that included answering equations, written problems, plotting math answers on a US map, looking up varius information pertaining to the states that the math answers had him travel through. He had to discuss how to plan travel on plotted path and write a short paper on all that he learned. Very similar to the actions an adult might take to plan a family vacation. Task such as this teach the student more than memorized facts. It teaches a student how to apply what they have learned to their own life. Again, APCS is a great school with wonderful staff and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2013

I have nothing to say but GREAT things about APCS. Our daughter is in her second year there and looks forward to going to school everyday...EVERY day. She is challenged daily by some of the best teachers I have known, in public or private school, period. Our youngest will be starting kindergarten at APCS in the fall and she sees how her sister loves the school, she is excited as well. I would like to address what was posted by a parent on 16Jan2013, Socially inept? please, APCS develops social skills as well as academic proficiency. As to your second point about extracurricular activities, I see school as a center of learning. I do not need a school to tell me what activities my children can participate in after school. Now if you are trying to develop a future baseball/football/basketball 'star' maybe you need to rethink this, you have just as good odds winning the lottery as junior making it to the pros, just saying. There are some life experiences that I have gotten from kids from ALL backgrounds, if you do not think a child can learn unless you have % of this race % of that race, then I really think you should take a step back, open your eyes and your mind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2013

If you have a middle or high school student you can rest assured knowing they will have NO homework. While they are in school they are taught to test. The middle and high school is facilitated out of mobile units and the cultural diversity among teachers is nil. Most of the good teachers from the middle and high school don t stay around long. Upon entering this school I had such high hopes. I thought the idea of a charter school is a corporate funded school that can take learning to the next level, developing strong students who are ready for college and a life of success. I have not seen anything of the sorts; just mediocre academics in a culturally bland school. There is more opportunity for a resilient child in public schools than this one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2013

If you are raising a child that you may consider socially inept, then this is the school for your family. If your child is into any extracurricular activity other than band (i.e. no decent sports programs, where would they practice anyway?) or if you want your child to acquire life experience with kids from ALL backgrounds, this is not the school for you. There is more to life for elementary kids than homework, but not at this school. Yes, it is great to want your child to strive educationally, it s another to saturate every hour of free time at home working on school matters. This school also teaches to test, so it is doubtful you will see any enthusiastic learning light bulbs above your child s head. Good test scores equal funding, so if your child can t keep up or score accordingly then prepare to work them to the core to catch up or literally get left behind... in the same grade next year. This school also ranks your child, how s that for confidence?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2012

I would like to respond to the parents comments of May 8th 2012. I wouldn't say that APCS is on academics alert or probation. Our charter was up for renewal, and the previous Administration had set some very unrealistic goals, goals that were not attained. Therefore, APCS rewrote more realistic academic goals which will be reviewed yearly. Please DO go look at our test scores, they are comparable or better than other schools in the area. But more importantly, they have improved this year, thanks to the current administration and its teachers. It will only improve as we inform our parents of the goals and strategies and how they can help us help their children.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 7, 2012

This is our 1st year at the elementary school. So far, I've been pleased. All 3 of my kids have great teachers who are always readily available anytime I need to talk to them or check on my kids' progress. I like the strict discipline because it holds the kids accountable for their actions and keeps down distractions in the classroom. This coming from a parent who has student who had many notes sent home and phone conferences due to his high activity level and talking. I understand that he has to conduct himself in a certain way in the classroom for the well-being of ALL students! I have one child going into the 6th grade (middle school), but I don't know much about the middle or high school level yet, so I'm having a hard time making a decision about whether to keep her there for higher grades or not. There's definately a different population than you would see in a traditional public school. It's more sheltered, so it just depends on what you think about that. There's also a whole lot of parent involvement, which I think is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2011

Change is hard for everyone, even when it's positive. The new administration running this school is doing an amazing job. Increased academic standards, a stricter uniform policy and greater accountability of the High School students have had a positive impact. It's upset some parents and staff members, but you can't be the best without upsetting a few people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2011

This is my son's first year in Academics Plus Charter and we love it. He's not bored here as it is more challenging than his previous elementary school. His teacher is awesome and really cares. They are also getting a new elementary building which is promising.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

This school has a lot of problems. It is not safe for children. They don t care about students; all they care about is sending students home when they wear off color pants. This school does not have too many good teachers or staff. They left. The Vice Principal criticized other teacher in the classroom to her students. I don t think my child need to be in that kind of environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 84% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 73% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 64%
Black 18% 21%
Hispanic 7% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A61%
Female 47%N/A49%
Male 53%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

900 Edgewood Dr
Maumelle, AR 72113
Phone: (501) 851-3333

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Oak Grove Elementary School
North Little Rock, AR




Crystal Hill Elementary School
North Little Rock, AR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT