Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public charter
Maumelle, AR
Students enrolled: 358
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Academics Plus Charter School 5

Posted April 07, 2015
- a parent
We started in Kindergarten there this year and I will admit to being a little intimidated. The school structure is very strict and we got a little "Stepford" feel from it at first. Our child's kindergarten class looked like what you would normally expect from the 2nd or 3rd grade. Our child had preschool but was not as advanced as the other students seemed to be. Many of these children are already reading and writing. He had a great deal of trouble settling in as he struggled with the feeling that everyone was so much more advanced which tended to translate into behavioral issues. His teacher, the Principal, Vice Principal and Counselor were all extremely dedicated to helping him catch up and find his place there and went above and beyond to help him settle. Now he is at a level with others in his class and behaving himself. He is very enthusiastic about the things he is learning and positive about school in general. I credit his extremely patient teacher and her support for this attitude. I would highly recommend this school.

Academics Plus Charter School 5

Posted May 09, 2014
- a parent
Wonderful elementary school. The teachers are great and caring. They have enrichment classes after school in many different areas of interest. The academics part is way above par. They expect the children to be a grade level and a half above where they are. Help is needed if they are falling behind. The high school is great and challenging with one exception being math. My son had four different math teachers last year alone. This year they tried to fix the problem with hiring a teacher that had college level teaching experience. She however does not know how to teach to the younger students and it has been a struggle from day one. If they can fix this one issue with math then I would give them an A+


Academics Plus Charter School 5

Posted February 26, 2014
- a parent
Excellent school. Great kids! The faculty is caring and professional. Lots of communication with parents.

Academics Plus Charter School 5

Posted February 04, 2014
- a parent
Awesome, caring, nurturing, holds students accountable! Supportive teachers, faculty and staff! Awesome school! Academics Plus is teaching more than just how to be a good student! Character education in important at AP as well as academics!

Academics Plus Charter School 5

Posted February 02, 2014
- a parent
We love Academics Plus! It is a safe, nurturing environment as well as academically challenging. The teachers are wonderful, and the elementary principal, Mrs. Gross, is excellent.
1 person found this helpful


Academics Plus Charter School 5

Posted February 02, 2014
- a parent
We have been so pleased with APCS! We fill so good knowing our child is safe and surrounded by wonderful teachers and a great staff. Could not be more pleased with the education he is receiving.

Academics Plus Charter School 5

Posted February 02, 2014
- a parent
APCS is a great school with the best team of dedicated teachers. It has a small town community feel with K-12 on one campus. The kids are pushed academically, but also really treated as individuals. We are so glad we made the choice to enroll our children at APCS.

Academics Plus Charter School 5

Posted February 02, 2014
- a teacher
APCS is a wonderful school which focuses on what is best for each child. The school environment is more like a family and everyone knows and cares about eachother.


Academics Plus Charter School 5

Posted October 29, 2013
- a parent
You won't find a better school with more caring teachers and staff than APCS! From K - 12, all it has a community feel where everyone plays a important part in the educational process.

Academics Plus Charter School 5

Posted October 21, 2013
- a teacher
This is a GREAT school. Before teaching here, I was a substitute in several other districts. I am AMAZED at the hard work, dedication and long hours of the teachers here. They could ALL make a lot more money at a non-charter school, but they are dedicated to the children here. There aren't enough words to describe how wonderful these teachers are.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Academics Plus Charter School
900 Edgewood Dr, Maumelle, AR  72113
(501) 851-3333
Last modified Academics Plus Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Academics Plus Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. Top