Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pine Forest Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 548 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 17, 2014

PFE has wonderful leadership, very qualified teachers, great balance of ethnic/ecomomic backgrounds for everyone to feel comfortable and cared for! We also love the location in beautiful maumelle and the easy access to community center/walking trails/library (all within walking distance of PFE! Extra-curricular programs are wonderful and cafeteria staff are so great :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

We really like PFE and appreciate the effort the teachers and administration make to help our children grow and learn. Yes, there are issues here and there but they are quickly addressed and the school involves us. Most importantly, the principal listens! We have been very fortunate to have our children go to this school. It is a welcoming environment not only for students but parents as well. They edge on the side of flexible but have rules they follow and apply to all fairly. Overall, we are happy with the results and communication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

My husband and I were very disappointed with Pine Forrest Elementary. It was an uphill battle the whole year our children were there when trying to get our kids extra help. Our son was finally placed on a 504 plan due to his disability, however it was a never ending battle when it came to getting assistance for our daughter. While in the middle of doing the requires testing to see if she qualified for special education, the VP called us and states that we needed to take our daughter to get her diagnosed with ADD and put on medication before they could finish the testing due to her inability to focus during testing. This was completely illegal!!! Needless to say, after arguing with the VP for weeks on end...we filed for a permit to have our kids transferred and jerked them out of Pine Forrest as quickly as we could. If you have children with disabilities that require special needs, do not send them there!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2012

I know there are good teachers and staffs in this school. However I think they need to replace the current Principal. I transferred my child to another school because my child was afraid of going to school. Bullying should not be allowed. If somebody think bullying =playing , I don t think they need to be in education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2010

i love this school, it is a 10000% better than the school my kids went to in little rock. I have 2 children in this school and they both love it and are doing great. thier grades and comprehension have improved and they have lots of friends and look forward to going everyday. the staff are great and work very hard and are very professional wich is a huge problem iv had with the past schools. Not that it matters but my children, as are my nephews are african american and have never had any issues in this school. thank you and keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2010

My child will never attend this school again the teachers dont communicate well with the students my child comes home lost african american student wouldn't stand a chance at this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2009

The principal is doing a great job this year, she is new and trying to straighten things out. She is more involved with the teachers and parents which is a plus. However, this school is lacking team building amonst the teachers as well as any type of classroom enrichment on a daily level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2006

This is an awesome school! I have had great experiences with the adminstration and with the teachers. I and my husband are very pleased with the school and love that it is very parent oriented. I am a teacher specialized in early childhood education and special education and highly recommend this school for anyone that is serious about their child's education needs and experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2004

Awesome school. Lots of parent and community envolvment. Principle is fabulous. Reading programs great. Very secure enviornment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 84% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
34%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 65%
Black 28% 21%
Hispanic 4% 10%
Asian 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A60%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

400 Pine Forest Dr
Maumelle, AR 72113
Phone: (501) 851-5380

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Oak Grove Elementary School
North Little Rock, AR



Crystal Hill Elementary School
North Little Rock, AR



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT