Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mountain Pine Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 344 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 27, 2013

My child goes to Mtn. Pine and she is in the elementary . I agree with the other person that said the school doesn't want the parents involved with the students at the school. Anytime you come to the school a lot of the staff is very rude, and the act like they don't want you to be there. They need to be more welcoming to the parents I understand they are trying to protect the kids ,but there is no reason for them to treat you like a criminal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2012

I am a parent of three children that have attended Mountain Pine and presently do now. My oldest son is a senior in college and maintains a 3.8 GPA. Both of my daughters are in advanced placement classes and allowed many opportunities to explore the world around them. I did read the statement provided by the individual from Texas. Currently holding a degree in Early Childhood Education and working with children my entirelife, I would love to be able to speak with the teacher of this child. Maybe they were dealing with a SPECIAL ED. NEED. There are always two sides to every story. Glad you are back in Texas! Hope you are finding your school system accomidating there! GO HOGS!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 15, 2010

My son attends Mountain Pine and is currently in Kindergarten. I have not been impressed with my child has learned. Most of what they've done all year he learned in Pre-K. School will be over in less than 9 weeks and he is just now beginning to read from memory with sight words. He is struggling to sound out words and I've had to work with him a lot at home to get him to where he needs to be. Regardless of what I do with him at home, he will only fall behind by the day with what I teach, because the school is so far behind. I agree with the lady from Texas. We are looking to move very soon, just to ensure that our children do not attend Mountain Pine any longer. The entire district lacks professionalism and parents that want to be envolved are quickly shunned away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2010

I think that mountain pine is the best school that my childern have ever been to. The teachers are grate too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2009

okay i'm a student at Mountain Pine and I have been blessed to be apart of a school that has so many respectful students, volunteers, and teachers! Yes most of us were born and rased here as well as our parents and most of us are related, but we all stick together and help others to reach there goals. We have a normal school that has smart people and people who are challenged... Our teachers try the best they can, the problem is lake of careing. I have been cheering here every year scence 2004 and i'm now the Jr High cheerleading Co-Captain. I'm also a Basketball Player and my first year to play for pee wee I needed shoes and a ride to practice... most of the coaches got together and helped pay for them for me. If your willing to learn, you will be pleased with your childs advancedment!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2008

My son has attended school MP for 11 years and I am more than satisfied with the schools performance in all areas. I think that the staff and parents have a very close relationship and the fact that it is a small school only enhances it's greatness. We have the best athletic programs in our conference for high school and no where around will you find a better pee wee program. They are defending their 10 year as conference champs and there is no cost for the kids to participate in football, basketball or cheerleading at the pee wee level. The parent that wrote the reveiw that was from Texas and didn't leave her children but 4 months should have stuck around. We are a big family and want more to join our family. See for yourself you will love it too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2006

We moved there from Texas without knowing that this school is lacking academically.I had 2 children going to Mountain Pine in 2004-05 school year and I removed them from there within 4 months. My children were doing work they did one to two years ago.With their very low test scores it is a wonder Mountain Pine is still open.We have had several problems with some children in the 5th and 6th grade, and I don't feel that they were adequately handled by the principal. If you aren't from the area, don't expect a warm welcome. Outsiders are not welcome with open arms. Your children will have a very hard time fitting in. Most of the children going here were raised here and so were their parents or they are all related! 'If you love your children and care about their future do not make them go to this school.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2004

Mountain Pine is an excellent school! My two daughters attend there who are in the 5th and 6th grade at MPS and have been very blessed with excellent teachers who really take interest in their students. This is their first year to attend here and they really love the school. Mountain Pine thinks of the kids and offers a lot of gerat extracurricular activities such as pee-wee football and Cheerleading for 4th grade and up which most school do not offer this . The school is small and the parents are involved. It might be the partnership between the parents, the principal and the teachers that make it exceptional. It is hard to pinpoint the success because there are so many bonuses. I think the only thing I am not happy with is the lack of shade for the parents and cheerleaders at the football games. The visitors have it all:-)
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 84% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 73% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 65%
Black 9% 21%
Hispanic 5% 10%
Asian 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/A60%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

690 Blakely Dam Rd
Mountain Pine, AR 71956
Phone: (501) 767-2421

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Gardner Magnet School
Hot Springs, AR


Summit School
Hot Springs, AR




Park Magnet School
Hot Springs, AR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT