Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

North Little Rock Montessori School

Private | K-8 | 89 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in North Little...

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $72,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $650.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 10, 2014

My son has THRIVED in the positive environment at NLRMS. His teachers for Pre-K and Kindergarten have been nothing short of amazing. He loves going to school everyday and truly enjoys the montessori learning environment. I highly recommend this school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2011

For the review August 2, 2011, you really don't know what you are talking about. This is an amazing school with an excellent staff. Orientation was a couple of nights ago, and this year is going to see our children excel! For those that needed to kick up a fuss last year and fed on discord - GOOD RIDDANCE! Those with the biggest mouths were the biggest trouble! I look forward to an excellent year with a amazing teaching staff and fellow parents all on the same page. One that is more worried about our child's development than the social circles to be kept with other parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2011

My son is starting his second year at NLR Montessori this year. WE LOVE THIS SCHOOL! The teachers and administrators care for my child as if he were there own. And I strongly disagree with the previous reviewer's claim. I have observed classes first hand and see the Montessori principles being applied in every area. The children are introduced to hands-on lessons as they show readiness. Each room is well equipped with Montessori materials and those are the materials used for teaching. The students do keep busy with the materials, and they do a lot of work on their own but if you have researched the Montessori method you know that that is how the Montessori method is supposed to work. I can understand how someone who may have chosen the school without researching the method may misunderstand seeing students working on their own, but that is the best thing about Montessori--students learn to learn and to LOVE learning! Of course as students get older and can read well they start doing more reading and fewer hands-on lessons. (I am just a parent, but this is my understanding) To really get a feel for the school I suggest you visit and observe a class for yourself. YOU'LL LOVE IT!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2011

My child attended North Little Rock Montessori School for four years with no complaints. However, over the last two years I have watched the school steadily go downhill. This school may have been a true Montessori school at one time, but no longer adhere to the philosophy--they are Montessori in name only. Children do a lot of busywork and very, very little of the traditional hands-on Montessori work. As far as curriculum, there is no difference than that of a traditional school. Why pay tuition for something you can get for free? The teacher turnover is increasingly high due to low pay and unhappiness with the administration. The school has--or has had, as is now the case--excellent, caring teachers. For the 2011-2012 school year, there is only one Montessori trained teacher returning. This used to be a wonderful school, but sadly is no longer the case.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2009

My son has been attending this school for 2 years now and the academics are excellent. The teachers and parents are highly involved and make many of the big decisions along with the principal. The negatives are that there is not a cafeteria, no fine arts program, and no gym. Many of the students belong to military families and there is a wonderful after school program available to working parents for a small fee. We have seen the school come a long way in the form of technology and new classroom equipment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2009

I have 2 children attending- 1 kindergarten and 1 in pre-k program. We love this school! We were at a different private school last year(out of state) and this is so much better. My children have learned so much already. Each day we are amazed with new things they know. The Montessori method really seems to be great. The teachers are super. It's a very warm, loving, supportive place. As a military family we felt very welcomed and supported. Teachers all seem to really love the kids and most have many, many years of teaching experience. My children love going to school here. Parents are great too! Only downside it's so small there is no lunch program. The only other down side is that they do not yet have computers in lower level grade's rooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2008

The one thing that makes this school distinctly different than other montessori schools is the level of training and years of knowledge/experience the teachers have. The teachers have a true passion for what they do and it shows in the excitement my daughter has each day that she goes to school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2006

I am very pleased with this school, My three daughters go here and are doing extremely well, above average. The teachers are wonderful, very friendly, helpful. The teachers want your children to do their best and will see that they do because they care. I am impressed with how connected and loving the teachers are to the students. The teachers help students blossom and expand beyond the stranded classroom. No student falls between the cracks. I love that the students learn at their own pace and can move ahead as needed. The administer is full of knowledge,with many ideas. The Administer and Teachers are interested in your child and wants him or her to excel in life. The school has a safe and easy drop-off and pick-up system. the school has a involved PTO and many wonderful volunteers. The North Little Rock Montessori is a wonderful school and I recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2005

My son has attended this school since Kindergarten and is now entering the fifth grade. I cannot say enough good things about NLR Montessori, we have been and continue to be very pleased with our son's educational experience. The level of attention from the teachers and administrators is unmatched, the kids are happy and our National scores reflect the level of competency. In addition this school has diversity of race, religion and ages---we're small but we're mighty. You cannot go wrong with North Little Rock Montessori!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2004

I am a former NLR Montessori student, and I greatly appreciate the quality education I was given here! Small class sizes increase the teacher's ability to help individual students. The learning is almost entirely hands-on and students are given individualized instruction. The primary grade teachers are especially gifted at giving children a strong understanding of math, science, geography, and reading. In addition to these things, students are given creative freedom to express themselves in different ways. Teachers encourage students in areas of interest and ability. I have really noticed, since being in college, that my understanding of fundamentals in all subject areas are much stronger than other people's. I don't attribute this to myself, but to the wonderful teaching and methods of NLR Montessori!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 27, 2004

We wish we'd started our daughter out at this wonderful school, if only we'd known. We sadly left when we had to move out of state. NLR Montessori is a wonderful, highly academic, loving, safe, fun place for children to learn. We'd love to be back there. The minute we walked into the school, we knew this was the place our daughter needed to be. We moved her mid-year, as she knew immediately this is where she was supposed to go to school. Wonderful, patient teachers who know how to help children learn. Without a doubt, the most positive school experience our daughter has ever had!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2004

Wonderful Montessori environment with emphasis on academic achievement. Small classes. Learning takes place both in and out of the classroom with field trips to cultural events is the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 64%
Black 12% 21%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 1%
Hispanic 2% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMI
  • AMS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

900 Mission Road
North Little Rock, AR 72118
Phone: (501) 753-5157

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Indian Hills Elementary School
North Little Rock, AR


Immaculate Conception School
North Little Rock, AR


Crestwood Elementary School
North Little Rock, AR


Pike View Elementary School
North Little Rock, AR



No. Heights Elementary School
North Little Rock, AR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT