Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Indian Hills Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 597 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 1, 2014

I struggled to even give this school Any stars, because they have Not shown Any improvement with my child?! This is even After going to the N.L.R. School district for help?! This was because the teacher herself was embarrassing & bullying my child, & Nothing was being done about it?! This is Soo Wrong, that it is hard to even Believe?!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

My child attended this school since 1st grade, when we weren't dealing with bullying, we were dealing with poor grades, and lack of attention to these issues. After 2 years of expressing concern about my childs academics and why she was being passed to the next grade when she obviously wasn't grasping the curriculum properly in 5th grade we finally got some feed back with a test that said she fell below basic in 3rd grade! No matter how hard we strived to help her succeed at home the school turned a blind eye to the issues and passed her without ever questioning, changing, adapting to help her until it was to late. She will inevitably enter middle school in inclusion classes even after one half of a year they actually tried (dumbed down the work the work instead of helping her reach the appropriate level) This school and it's special needs classes make sure that a child scrapes by instead of succeeds. If I could take it back I would sent her somewhere that put forth an effort for my childs future instead of allowing her to struggle which just led to more bullying and self doubt and poor self esteem. Thank you Indian Hills for leaving no child left behind...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2013

The Principal and teachers like to fit all kids in to the same box. There are a few teachers there that genially care, but you can defiantly tell there is an "in crowd" that gets special treatment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2012

It is in my opinion, that this school has a severe bullying problem. If you do not want your children to be bullied I advise you select a different school. The teachers and principal do not like to discuss these issues, much less resolve them. However, if you are VERY involved with your child's school (aka "home room parent") you will not have any problems at all. Beware...this school is very political, and often times prejudice against lower/middle class families. God bless the few teachers at Indian Hills Elementary who actually do care for their students and their future; for they are few and far between!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2012

The IS the best school ever!!!!! Excellent teachers, Involved parents, and kids that excel. We have had 3 kids go there and have LOVED it. It is AWESOME!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2011

Indian Hills is a great school in North Little Rock. The children get a great education and are very well prepared to enter middle school when it's time to move on. Indian Hills is the home of Arkansas State Teacher of the Year for 2010 and North Little Rock District Teacher of the Year for 2011. It is a wonderful caring community of teachers, administrators and parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2009

The absolute best school. Teachers and staff are all great with both the children and parents. Parent's are very involved and always welcomed. My children love everything about it. We are Indian Hills!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2009

Parents have pulled their kids out of the most prestigious and expensive schools in town so they can attend Indian Hills. We've had a wonderful experience with everyone from teachers, administrators, lunchroom, office and other personnel. Everyone is treated fairly. There are always new activities and programs including field trips, Space Camp, etc. The PTA has a huge level of participation, and you never can be at school without seeing multiple parents there volunteering in a variety of ways. Fathers especially are involved not only in classroom activities but also in the hugely successful Watch Dog Dads. Parents are always welcomed at school to attend class, eat lunch, volunteer, etc. High standards for discipline and academics are set for all of the children. There are also a great number of resources for disabled and challenged children. The school is regularly recognized for its achievements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2008

This is a great school with a staff that is very caring and dedicated to ensuring the students get a quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

My son is in his third year at Indian Hills and we couldn't be happier with the instruction he has received and the overall quality of all the staff there. Parent involvement is a huge part of what makes this school great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

The school is one of the best. Truly caring teachers and support staff. The parents love to get involved, because the teachers are so involved. My husband and I have nothing but great things to say about the school, and we feel that they set the standard for elementary schools. They have great extracurricular activities where they involve all the students, and they also have the Gifted and Talented Program for those kids who excel in their school work. This is a great opportunity to let kids shine!! Love the school and its staff!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

My kids both went through Indian Hills from K-4th and 5th grades. Parent involvement is one of the strongest you will find. The teachers are very good and seem to really care about the students. I was always impressed with the things they were being taught and felt like they received a good education. However, after moving to another state, I have been told that my child should have been tested for the GT program so I am wondering if the criteria for GT at Indian Hills should be re-evaluated in future so more students do not get excluded from great opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2006

Indian Hills is the best elementary school in Central Arkansas! The teachers are top-notch and really go the extra mile to ensure that the children are learning and are being properly academically challenged. The administration is awesome and truly wants the best for every child at Indian Hills. The parent involvement is also wonderful. There are always tons of parents at every event, and everyone is always willing to give a helping hand.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2004

Both my children have attended or are attending Indian Hills Elementary. They both are exceeding academically and socially. With one child being in the gifted & talented program and receiving a 'Presidents Awards', to the other being diagnosed with ADHD and physical challenges, they exceed because the school personell and families take and active role in supporting the school, which in turn supports the students at any level. I could not be happier. This is the premier school in the central Arkansas area. Your child at whatever level, whether it's above average or with disabilities will excel. Great job Mrs. Jackson, Principle and the rest of the IHE staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2003

What a terrific school! Parents and teachers work together at Indian Hills to provide a great learning environment for children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 84% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 64%
Black 23% 21%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6800 Indian Hills Dr
North Little Rock, AR 72116
Phone: (501) 835-5622

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Immaculate Conception School
North Little Rock, AR



Crestwood Elementary School
North Little Rock, AR




Pike View Elementary School
North Little Rock, AR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT