Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Immaculate Heart of Mary School

Private | PK-8 | 173 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Oak Grove

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $72,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $650.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 28, 2013

This school used to be a little gem, tucked away in a private, peaceful setting. As most schools, it had its ups and downs, but the teachers were committed and the parents were supportive. New administration has been the catalyst for a mass exodus of teachers and many students. It's a shame that one person has been allowed to slowly destroy the school, which will likely result in the demise of the beautiful old church as well.


Posted August 10, 2011

My daughter has been at IHM for eight years and absolutely loves the school. As a parent I was truly blessed to run across IHM some years ago when we were looking for a Pre-K school. My family fell in love with the school. Our current principal, Dan Smith, taught at Subiaco Academy and Catholic High for a combined 15+ years. He brings a type of Christian leadership to IHM that are unmatched. The school, church, unselfish parents, absolutely incredible teachers and a wonderful bunch of kids make Immaculate Heart of Mary a true blessing to the community. As a parent I am happy that schools like this still exist.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2011

Immaculate Heart of Mary School has a tradition forged in the heart of the Polish founded Parish which it is a part of. The school serves many of the decendants of the original Polish immigrants to the area as well as many families from Maumelle, Marche, and Oak Grove areas. We have had our children in the school for 8 years. We moved to the Marche area just to be a part of this wonderful parish and school. The class sizes are small. The pastor, Fr. Hart is very involved. Our Principal Dan Smith is a long time member of the Parish and taught at Catholic High School for 16 years. He brings with him unwavering committment, as well as a deep desire for quality education in a solidly Catholic atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2010

If you are considering a school for your child Immaculate Heart of Mary School is a wonderful place with great tradition. Parents at this school care and get involved. The leadership and discipline begins with the Principal of IHM. Our principal is involved in every aspect of the school. He teaches religion to different classes throughout the week. He walks around greeting parents, talking with the children; visiting them in their classrooms. The school also has an outstanding computer facility for the children and the teachers of IHM are by far some of the best around. This school succeeds and will continue to succeed because the IHM foundation is built on Christ and his teachings. I truly feel blessed having my child enrolled at Immaculate Heart of Mary, she receives challenging academics, a great athletic program but most important: a Christ based spiritual and religious education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2008

My 2 children love to go to IHM.The school environment is outstanding. Keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2008

IHM is like a small community school within driving distance of the city. All teachers know all the kids, and it's easy to meet other parents and make friends. The level of parental involvement in the school is high. Kids get individual attention which helps them excell. There are many extra-curricular activities for every age group from micro-soccer to competitive basketball, track, golf, scouting, and student council just to name a few.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2004

My 3 children attend IHM and I've been extremely pleased with their progress and our experience here. The school's peaceful setting and outstanding faculty have contributed to a positive learning environment. The principal has won 'Principal of the Year' award when she was at Dallas Independent School District and after five minutes of speaking with her, you will understand why. She's very caring and continuously seeks ways to ensure IHM's curriculum is top-notch. Renaissance Learning's tools of Accelerated Reading and Accelerated Math have allowed students who are able to progress above their peers to do so, while allowing students who need to spend more time on a subject to really learn a topic. The outstanding sports program, piano instruction, religious education, arts, and Spanish language courses contribute to a well-rounded education. Its location is convenient to those in Maumelle, Marche, and NLR, and is worth the drive for those in LR/Conway. Come see for yourself!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 67%
Hispanic 3% 8%
Asian 2% 1%
Black 1% 22%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Little Rock
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7025 Jasna Gora Dr
Oak Grove, AR 72118
Phone: (501) 851-2760

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Oak Grove Elementary School
North Little Rock, AR







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT