Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Academic Center of Excellence

Charter | 1-10

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 13, 2010

The staff is great. They give more than 100% to make the educational experience of the students a positive experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

We have the best staff and group of kids ever
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 13, 2010

Great school who care about the education of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

Friendly staff. I feel that both my children are receiving a quality education and they are well taken care of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2008

I have overall enjoyed our past 2 1/2 years at ACE. I do agree with the comment that it feels like they cram for Benchmarks, while skipping over alot of basic things. I also think most of the teachers are good. They don't seem to have a strong enough disapline policy in that the same kids keep causing trouble year after year, insted of being sent elsewhere. I hope 7th. grade is good. 4th, and 5th were great, 6th is pretty good, except for science. The principal is always very helpful with any comment or problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2008

Wonderful experience for children. Top notch in all regards.


Posted March 1, 2007

My son has attended the Ace school for 2 years. It has been a horrible experience for us both. The principal is not approachable, the teachers are often unconcerned with individual student needs, and the so called Parent Advisory Committee is a joke. There are a few teachers who are exceptional and make the school day a little bit easier to cope. Test scores are focused on too much. An overall education is what I am looking for, not how to cram for the Benchmark
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2006

My son has attended the Academic Center of Excellence for 3 years. He came from a private school into the charter school. We found the high expectations for learning to be a rewarding challange for our child. The students who choose to adhere to the reasonable academic challanges are excited about school. My son absolutely loves going to school. He has a new and exciting project or activity each week to explore and discuss. The administration supports a variety of extracurricular activities including GT Art, GT Seminar, Band, Choir, all sports, Odyssey of the Mind, FBLA, Builders Club, Bible Club, Quiz Bowl, Spelling Bee and Drama. The Parent Advisory Committee meets on the first Tuesday of the month. All parents are invited. The turnout is usually 5-10 parents. Overall, I feel the Academic Center of Excellence is a great school for my son. I am thankful he has the opportunity to attend
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2006

My daugter went to ACE for 4-8th grade. The first year she enjoyed. The second she had to go to the doctor for medication for stress relief. This is my son's second year. He has really disliked this school, but unfortunately at this time we do not have other options. His teachers do not appear to be concerned in reference to his education. He scores above average on his state tests, but is having trouble passing his 5th grade science class. The teacher did not feel compelled to notify me that his grades were dropping. Once again I have stressed the importance of his education and will give it until progress reports and will try a different approach to this school...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2005

December 2005 My experience with charter was not pleasant. The Administrative Faculty run the schools like a Dictatorship turning a cold shoulder to concerns of students and parents. The smallest issues, although important to parents, are turned into huge obstacles with no hope for a positive outcome. I had high hopes of an advanced curricula instead found disapointment. This particular school and administration is not for families that like a stress free school environment. Children are treated like adults with all references to 'preparing them for the work force' . My 9 year old is still figuring out what she would like to be much less preparing to go to work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2004

My son has attended ACE since it started three years ago. He has had a great experience--he looks forward to going to school every morning. His standardized test scores have climbed, to nearly 99% in every subject. His teachers are tough but caring. I have vistied a number of good schools (both private and public) in Memphis and other towns near us, but I choose to enroll him at ACE. Plus, he has a variety of extracurricular activities. It is a remarkable school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
11%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
17%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 44% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
52%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

112 North School St
Osceola, AR 72370
Phone: (870) 563-2150

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT