Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Osceola High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 343 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 1, 2010

This school is horrible. And the fault isn't with the teachers. The principle is firing teachers, blaming them, but in all actuality, it's the student's fault. The disiplne seems acurate, and you would think it would work, but most of the students could care less. I'm a student, and I can never concentrate or learn because the teachers never get to teach. They're too busy yelling at the kids, and getting the coaches. This school is in saaad shape.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 15, 2008

I went to the Osceola School District until the beginning of my 11th grade year and the school that I am at now is way harder than Osceola's school was. It's like the students didn t care about their education and it's sad to say but I think there will be less students to graduate and more students to drop out in the upcoming years.. And it's not the teachers fault because they are doing their parts. Before I left Osceola, they were just beginning to build a new lobby and it's needed done since the 05-06 school year. When it would rain the floors would be flooded with water and there would be buckets (that they would place under the leaks like that would help) running over with water. It was so disgusting. These are unnecessary things that could be easily taken care of that are bringing the school down.


Posted February 28, 2006

I'm new at this school. But i do want to say one thing. Everyone complains about their school. I honestly thing that the staff is trying their hardest to do what they can, but the students do not want to cooperate. If you had your kid transfered you will then complain that it is too hard. I am happy where im at. Although the kids here are very dramatic i still think it's a good school to attend to. The sports is a good thing. but your right just because you play sports and your popular doesn't mean you should get passed on. Everyone should get treated equally.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 9, 2006

I think my child would do much better if I schooled her at home. It is like a zoo there. There is no control over the students. The students need more guidance. When dropping my daughter off for school, teens of opposite sex will be wrapped all over each other hugging and kissing. Yes, sports is a major concern for this school. It is sad that our whole school system is like this. Each school is basically the same but new teachers and a different location but basically all the same problems. It doesn't appear that it will be getting better in the near future. What a shame for the children's education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2005

I am a former student of this school. I moved away when I had my first child because I refused to send them to Osceola. The students who play sports are just passed along through school if they do well or not. The students who graduate are not prepared for college or anything else. The only thing for college they are prepared for is playing sports in college. I love the team, but the way they treat these players is sad. They are not doing them any good by just passing them along through school so they can play football. This school needs someone to step in and change this school. Not just the sports, but everything about this school. I don't feel this school is very socially concerned. The teenage pregnancy rate is high. There should be classes to teach about pregnancy and also drugs.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 17, 2004

This is a really good school. My daughter graudauted lasy year adn she did very well academically. It helped her prepare very well for college and the teachers, staff, and principals are very encouraging. If you are looking for success and equality this is a great school. Go Seminoles!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2004

I am sad to say that OHS is one of the worst schools academically. Less focus should be placed on sports and more on creating students that become productive members of society. If your child is not gifted in physical activities, such as football, there is little chance of him/her succeeding at this school. The funding is obviosly there with the addition of a new gym facility and metal detectors. Why is more money not put into updated books, math and science facilities, or tutors for failing students? Over 80% of students leaving this school are unprepared for the next level and return to work in factories or farms close to home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2004

I honestly don't think that this school is very good. Now if your child is a football or basketball player then they can get away with almost everything. Sad to say but true.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

It has been my experience that the racial makeup of the school has some bearing on the overall quality of the school. From test scores and discipline to activities and quality of education, Osceola is lacking the area that matters the most -- turning out viable citizens allowing for economic and social growth. The teachers are dedicated...for the most part. The students are not. Having been a substitute teacher in the school system and knowing first hand how the 'system' works, Osceola High School needs more work on discipline and increased scores.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 70% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
29%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 44% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
15%

2010

 
 
21%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 72% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
21%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 79% 21%
White 19% 64%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 10%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 99%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2800 West Semmes
Osceola, AR 72370
Phone: (870) 563-2192

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT