Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pea Ridge Intermediate School

Public | 3-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 3, 2012

My son really enjoyed kindergarten and 1st grade, but when he started school this year, his whole attitude about school changed within the first 2 weeks of school. His excitement turned to crying every morning and telling me he didn't want to go. He tells me he's scared of his teacher and that she screams all the time at the kids. A friend of mine had a child in this teacher's class last year and he had told her that she duct taped him to the chair as punishment for misbehaving. Everyday my son brings home about 2 hrs worth of homework a night. Maybe this is common at other schools, but I think this is a bit much for a 2nd grader. I've already had one meeting with the principal and I'm scheduling a second one as soon as possible to discuss having him transferred out of his current class. Obviously I can't mention the teachers name, but if I could, I certainly would. I'm basing my ratings off this years experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2010

My son is a kindergartener at Pea Ridge Primary. The staff are wonderful and really work with my child who is advanced for his age. He is allowed to go to higher grades for reading time so he's able to continue his advancement with reading. He is also allowed to tutor his peers and read to his classmates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

My son is in 1st grade at Pea Ridge Elementary. The staff is great and my son loves going to school there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2007

Excellent school. A smaller school where the kids have a chance to shine. Great teachers and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2007

We moved to Arkansas last year and started my son in Fayetteville schools. We moved to Pea Ridge in February and my son started at Pea RIdge Elementary in March. I was concerned at first because the first week I received reports that my son was not behaving very well, which worried me. He was doing well in the old school and I had good reports mostly every week. Then, when I met with his teacher at parent-teacher conferences last month, she said he was doing great. Once in a while he doesn't have a 'great day' but I don't know when we all have a great day every day. So, I am happy. He seems to like the school and his teacher. So, I cannot complain. His teacher is Mrs. Hussain.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2007

My daughter has been going to Pea Ridge since Kindergarton. everything went downhil from there. My daughter is ending her 3rd grade year this year and I am starting to homeschool her. We have had so many problems with the Pea Ridge school that I was ready to pull my hair out. If you're considering moving to Pea Ridge for the school; I cannot express enough to please check around for another school. My daughters self esteem and confidence level have dropped tremendously. In fact she is being treated for an ulcer right now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2006

My husband and I were very worried that our son would not do well in kindergarten because of his short attention span. He had Mrs. Hill this past year and on the first day came home and was spelling and writing his name. I tried until the last day and he never would do it. He did so well throughout the year and its because he had a wonderful teacher. He actually cried at the graduation because he thought that he would never see her again. I wish that he could have her again but we still have one more to get into school and I hope that she is still teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2005

We moved to the Pea Ridge area one year ago and have been extremely pleased with the elementary school. Before moving to Pea Ridge, our daughter had attended a private elementary school. Importantly, her third grade teacher at Pea Ridge was even more exceptional than her previous teachers. Her reading level has increased significantly as has her writing. The extracurricular activities available to elementary students are outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2004

This is a small school but it is a well diversified school and provides lots of materials to the students. The library could use lots of more materials and computers. The teachers are well educated and there could be more parent involvement, but overall this is a great school with lots of potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2004

This is a small school. Our children enjoy attending here, because of the size. If I could change it, there would not be much I would change. I do wish we could add to it. Such as improve the library, more computers available the the children, more play ground equipment, and learning materials for the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 84% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 64%
Hispanic 5% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 21%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1536 North Davis
Pea Ridge, AR 72751
Phone: (479) 451-8183

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Cooper Elementary School
Bella Vista, AR




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT