Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

L. L. Owen Elementary School

Public | 2-3 | 451 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 21, 2009

My daugter is in the 2nd grade at this school and I love it. Academically she is doing very well, never thought to look at playground equuipment, I mean as long as the the child is learning thats all that count. I buy her some toys for home. L.L. Owen keep up the great work
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2008

I think this is a very progressive school. Mr. Taylor is on top of what best practices in education. The district really supports its teachers financially.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 7, 2008

For the area this is a exceptable school. The child olny being there for two years makes it hard to really feel involved. Teachers seem to be very ridgid in there thinking and not willing to learn new ways. Playgrounds in all schools in this district are in very poor condition. Very dated, same thought and playground equipment as it was 20 years ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

I just want to say that I have a 3rd grader in this school and I wouldn't have her anywhere else. She is school choiced here and I definately made a good choice in this move. Love the teachers and the principal. They keep learning fun while providing a good structured learning enviroment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

My son as well as my nieces and nephews go or have gone to this school. Mr. Taylor is an exceptionally well principal and he makes sure that all of his students adhere to school policy. The teachers at this school make sure that the children understand that learning can be fun and more important than recess. I wouldn't send my children to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2004

I just want to say I have a child that is in 3rd grade here and I think this school is a great school. My son has been on the A&B Honor Roll since last year and is still on it this nine weeks. I think Mr. Taylor is doing a great job with the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2004

L.L. Owen is a great school. This is my son's second year at Owen. He has learned so much from his teachers. They are not affraid to challenge the students. They also have a strict discipline policy that is upheld. I have reccomended this school to everyone that asks me where is a good school. Thanks to the staff for caring for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2004

My son went to L.L. Owen for 2 years and loved every bit of it. The teachers and principal have been wonderful in helping him with his studies and learning new things. The principal is one who will listen and take immediate action.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 70% 21%
White 29% 65%
Hispanic 1% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/A60%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3605 Oakwood Rd
Pine Bluff, AR 71603
Website: Click here
Phone: (870) 879-3741

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT