Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Prairie Grove, AR
Students enrolled: 521
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Prairie Grove High School 5

Posted June 20, 2013
- a teacher
If academics ever did take a backseat to sports, it is no longer the case. The high school has become a force to be reckoned with academically. The AP programs is English, math, science, and social studies have grown with the AIMS initiative in recent years. More students are enrolling in the AP program, and more are succeeding on the AP exams. There has been a considerable shift towards a culture of learning. Rigorous instruction in composition by college board certified instructors and a newly formed 4-year engineering program, complete with dedicated teachers and state-of-the-art equipment are a couple indications of the growth of this school. PGHS is also academically ranked 16 in the state of Arkansas. Couple these factors with a student body who is learning to value community and achievement, teachers concerned with character as well as academics, a supportive administration intent on growing in leadership and effectiveness, a band and FFA program competitive on the state level, and, yes, a top-notch sports program, and you have a school, not a perfect one, mind you, but a quality one, where a student will find a positive and fulfilling academic and social experience.

Prairie Grove High School 2

Posted February 25, 2013
- a parent
Very bad problem with bullies that the school will not admit. They turn the other cheek so the school won't look bad. After several years in PG, I finally realized that this is not the best area/school system for my children. There are some really good teachers, but some really, really bad ones there as well. We once sat through a parent teacher conference and the algebra teacher played with his phone the WHOLE time! It was crazy! If you plan on moving into this district, talk to others that have tried to blend in within the community. Get informed. There are much better schools in this area. Just not enough care and concern for the students at PG. It's very sad.


Prairie Grove High School
no rating

Posted October 09, 2010
- a parent
Because I drove the bus for them and its a great school.

Prairie Grove High School 4

Posted March 01, 2010
- a student
I graduated from Prairie Grove High School last year, as part of the Class of 2009. The Prairie Grove High School is a school that has a strong tradition in the sports area, with our football team making the playoff for 14 years and counting. And currently, the girls basketball team is the runnings to play in the State title game. So, if your child has an interest in sports, this school is a good match. If your student is interested in music, this school has very well recognized marching band program led by two wonderful band directors. The high school band program marches about 60, and expects to march around 90 next year. They sound Awesome. If your child likes agriculture, then our schools FFA program is the best. They regularly win competitions across NWA. The Teachers, with a few exceptions are really cool, as is the new Administration.

Prairie Grove High School
no rating

Posted May 28, 2008
- a parent
I think the Prairie Grove school system is great. It is a small town school where the kids are very friendly and accepting. The students have great respect for the teachers and the teachers genuinly care for the students.


Prairie Grove High School 4

Posted March 12, 2007
- a student
PG to me is a great school, but it does have its bad things. The teachers for the most part are good, but with the good ones there have to we the few bad ones. Right now I am a Junior. I can tell you that the teachers are not the one that lack interest in the classes, but mostly the students. There are a lot of student that do care about the school and learning and then there are the ones that don't. There are teachers that try to be as fair as possible and the students take advantage of that.

Prairie Grove High School 2

Posted November 06, 2006
- a parent
I have 2 children attending PGHS. Sadly, we have our share of teachers who forgot why they wanted to teach but we are blessed with a few who are amazing. If you are lucky your child will have interaction with some of the wonderful people at Prairie Grove High School such as Debby Matney, Patrick Matney, Karen Holmes, Mandy Hunt, Melissa Parrish, and Carlos Reyes just to name a few. I haven t seen our Principal Mr. Bond much this year. Getting past Mr. Laird is very difficult.

Prairie Grove High School 5

Posted September 01, 2006
- a student
I am currently a sophomore at PGHS and FFA think this school is great. I have excellent teachers who love to get involved with the students and help them succeed. We have a great academics, band, athletics, and one of the best FFA programs ever! I made the transition from west fork to prairie grove and I couldn't be happier. So I have to disagree with all the negative comments because you never know how great the school is until you attend it.


Prairie Grove High School 1

Posted March 26, 2006
- a student
This school is terrible nothing is learned here! The administration is worried about other things than how the students perform in the classroom. The teachers just don't care. favoritism is heavely used. Football is all that seems to matter at pg! so if u care about ur kids getting any kind of education at all do not send them to pg. This school is a joke!

Prairie Grove High School 1

Posted December 28, 2005
- a parent
Prairie Grove school system lacks a lot! The students cannot spell, read, write worth a darn. Math is so outdated it's sad. Penmanship is NOT required! As long as the teachers can halfway read what a child is writing they pass! The students look like a fashion statement from WW11. No manners, no discipline, dress poorly. Sad thing about the education in Prairie Grove? Football is the only thing that matters! Half of the football team are not required to maintain a 2.0 average yet they can play football. Get a grip. Education is first! Then sports. It's all who you know, not what your grades are that matters in PG. Favoritism? You bet there is. Just look at the papers and see who are ALWAYS in the school reports. A SELECT few because daddy or Mommy work there! Reality? Just ask your children that attend PG schools.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Prairie Grove High School
500 Cole, Prairie Grove, AR  72753
(479) 846-4212
Last modified Prairie Grove High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Prairie Grove High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top