Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Joe Mathias Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 1, 2014

Everyone in the office is Hispanic. Communication was difficult and the staff seemed to not know anything I asked them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2012

This is my daughters first year at Mathias, and I have to say that I am pleasantly surprised with this school. We came from a top notch school in WI, although the teachers were excellent there, Mathia teachers have proven to be even more dedicated, helping my daughter achieve more than she had in WI. So happy we were able to find a quality school here in AR.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2012

My daughter has been attending this school for three years and it has been great! She really loves her teachers. The teachers are genuinely interested in helping their students progress. The office staff are very helpful. Mathias strives to have great communication between them and parents. Many fun extracurricular activites in place and students are greatly encouraged to get involved. Safety is a priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2011

Great school! My daughter has attended Mathias for the last few years and has had great teachers every time. Each one has taken extra time to help her on the specific objectives she needs to meet. The school also holds many parent nights, parent lunches, etc to keep families engaged and helping their students! Under the leadership of the principal that started last year, we have seen a dramatic change in the culture and attitudes of the office & other non-certified staff as well!! The school also has great extracurricular programs including bike-to-school with the PE teacher, Girls on the Run, track, choir, and was the city champion for Quiz Bowl last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2009

The teachers at this school are amazing! They are dedicated to their students and the education provided is top notch. Don't let lower test scores fool you. They may be lower but scores are steadily improving despite the high percentage of lower income families and second language learners. It is a very safe school and ongoing communication with families is a big priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2009

The teachers at this school are amazing! They are dedicated to their students and the education provided is top notch. Don't let lower test scores fool you. They may be lower but scores are steadily improving despite the high percentage of lower income families and second language learners. It is a very safe school and ongoing communication with families is a big priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2008

this school is great,both academically and extracurricular activities.my son really like the school and he is doing wonderfull in the class.very much appreciated and hard working teachers around the kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2007

This is my daughters first year of school and Mathias has been wonderful. Safety procedures are great. Her teacher is so sweet and my daughter has no complaints about school at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2004

This is my daughter's first year at Mathias and so far she has had a great experience. The teachers and faculty have been amazing and my daughter has been welcomed by everyone. So far I have been quite impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2004

My children have both attended Mathias for all of their grade school years. We have had nothing but wonderful experiences at this school. The teachers always go the extra mile to ensure eah student is taught on his or her own level. The administration is very professional and will to do whatever it takes to meet the needs of the staff and students. I would ask the parents who have complaints exactly how much time they invest each week in their child's education. I can guarantee the faculty at Mathias invests over 50 hours each week to get the job done. I am familiar with several schools in the district, and I sinderely believe Mathias is one of the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2004

Both of my daughter's were at this school for two years. It was the worst school we have ever seen. The staff was extremely unfriendly, and not helpful at all. They are some good teachers, but they are few and far between. The school is not in the greatest location in Rogers, and so you have a lot of low income families. The teachers always treated us like they were better than us because we lived in that zone. I would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2004

This school is a poorly managed school. If a student is flagged for danger, the staff does not request ID when inquiring about the student. The school refuses to call when a child has not arrived at school. If and when a parent does call to let the school know that the student will be absent, the staff does not ask if the child is okay. The communication with the parents and teachers is very poor. I would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 84% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 60% 10%
White 34% 64%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Black 2% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1609 North 24th St
Rogers, AR 72756
Phone: (479) 631-3530

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT