Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Eastside Elementary School 1

Posted January 06, 2016
- a community member
The first day my child started as a transfer in October she was made to feel like a burden. The vice principal was rude to her when she was shy. The teacher was rude when I met her. My child made complaints of strange behavior and rude remarks toward the children. My child was bullied daily by the teacher and students. My child was singled out to not participate in a Christmas party because she hadn't been there long enough to meet the teachers requirements for reading points. The teacher made her cut a strap off her boot, ruining them, so she wasnt noisy in class. I transferred her out after Christmas break due to the unfriendly and outrageous rude behavior of the teachers, staff, and children at this school! Her first day back at her old school everyone was excited to have her back, gave her plenty of hugs and love. She refers to Eastside as the "bully school."

Eastside Elementary School 5

Posted December 03, 2015
- a parent
We have been at Eastside Elementary for two years now. They have a year round calendar, which we absolutely love! Having a shorter summer keeps the kids from forgetting so much over the summer. Also, having more frequent breaks throughout the course of the year makes it easier and cheaper for family vacations. The principal runs a very tight ship. She is the first car there just about every morning and she is the last one to leave on most days. This is the first school we have attended where I feel like the teachers are there for the children and not for the pay check. It is a very disciplined and structured school, which is fabulous. The school is in a lower income part of town. However, due to this, the school is a Title 1 school. This is not a bad thing. The students who need the extra financial assistance get items for free (for example daily planners) and even the students who don’t get them free as well. It is a nice break for the families who are “middle class” and don’t qualify for the free and reduced lunch, but still struggle sometimes. I give this school high remarks and would recommend it to anyone. I hope you found this helpful.


Eastside Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2011
- a parent
Our family relocated to the area from Australia recently and were assigned to Eastside. I have been extremely happy with the school as a whole. Great teachers, friendly students, and lovely staff made the transition from "down under" a really easy one for my two sons. I disagree with the previous reviewer who feels that students of Hispanic origin are favoured or that the cirriculum has been dulled down to accomodate ESL students. All the students I have met have high academic and personal standards that are fostered by the school community as a whole. A lovely environment!

Eastside Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2010
- a parent
In Rogers, the district motto is "All belong, All learn and All succeed". Eastside exemplifies this motto daily. Because of the expectations of the teachers and administration at Eastside my children have become successful in their every dream. Our oldest son will be graduating with honors and a 4.0 from college because of the inspiration that the teachers helped to instill in our son. He is a very bright young man but was expected to demonstrate a work ethic in class that would help him reach his potential not just the grade level expectation. Our youngest son was diagnosed with Cancer in first grade and had a very long recovery. Because of the caring and loving environment at Eastside, he is now a confident high school student on the college tract. The school supported his emotional and academic needs in a developmentally appropriate way for a child recovering from cancer.

Eastside Elementary School 4

Posted May 04, 2008
- a parent
Administration: There is no doubt that hispanics are favored here. But, you cannot blame the individual school for the pressure due to the influx of aleins, legal or not. Certainly, improvements can be made here. Principal: Great effort to keep the school strong and deal with what she is dealt. Regardless of the enrollment statistics. Teachers: I have not ever seen a more dedicated group. Who's only objective is the betterment of each and every student. I visit the school often and talk to my kids about school regularly. Due in part to the teachers involvement. Teachers: 5 stars all the way.


Eastside Elementary School 4

Posted September 13, 2006
- a parent
My children started school here this year, they love it and are always bringing home their daily work to show what they have learned. My husband is in the army and the teachers have been very understanding about different changes with my children since my husband was sent off. My son's teacher even offered to find out about military counseling for my children and myself. I think this is a great school!!!

Eastside Elementary School 4

Posted April 27, 2005
- a teacher
This school has excellent teachers who all care about your students! Most of the kids in this school enjoy every day of learning!

Eastside Elementary School 2

Posted November 01, 2004
- a parent
Dont send your kids here. If you know something is wrong and voice your opion about it at a meerting they tell you anything to shut up about it.


Eastside Elementary School 1

Posted May 26, 2003
- a community member
This school discriminates against anyone who is not of hispanic origin.They have dropped their education standards to conform to the non-english speaking students thus leaving the English speaking students with a sub-standard education.The principal discriminates in a huge way.Please do not send your kids here you will be doing them a great dis-service.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Eastside Elementary School
505 East New Hope Rd, Rogers, AR  72756
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (479) 631-3630
Last modified Eastside Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top