Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Crawford Elementary School

Public | PK-4 & ungraded | 473 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 3, 2011

I have two daughters that attend this school, the staff knows me by name when I walk in the door. Not only do I feel like my children are safe, but that they are around people that encourage learning. The teachers care like they are their own children. Mr. Gotcher (principal) is a great leader that sets a great example. I am proud to be a Crawford Eagle!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2010

Everyone has been friendly and very helpful in enrolling my Grandchildren mid-semester. There has been daily feedback from the teachers. I have seen an improvement in both my Granddaughter and Grandson enrolling in Crawford Elementary. I love the "open library" concept. Thank you for all you do! Highly recommended if you are moving into the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

Crawford is a great school. We have some of the best teachers. And the students are awesome!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

Highly recommended!! Great Staff!! Puts kids first, been to alot of schools in the past and nothing compares to the high learning taught at this school. Love the setup they have which allows each kid to learn at their own pace yet making sure they achieve the best out of their school experience. On a scoe from 1 to 10 i give it a 25.......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2008

Many of the teachers lack true caring/concern for the students. They pass the children regardless of academic performance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2008

What an awesome school Crawford Elementary is! The teachers are loving and kind to the students and sincerely care about their Education. The office staff are very friendly and helpful when questions are asked. They will go the extra mile to assist parents in any way. The principal is top notch and cares about each family. I would highly recommend Crawford to any newcoming family in Russellville. Just visit and you will see.


Posted May 1, 2007

Sadly, Crawford has become a school of nothing. The curriculum is weak. And the teachers are weaker. We just recently added a music and art program, which, unortunately does not teach the students about either. The school is underfunded and falling apart. Only ahand full of parents take the iniative to be a part of the process.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

at crawford my girls are very happy. they are learning new things everyday and the teachers are very understanding when it comes to me asking a lot of questions its just a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 64%
Hispanic 26% 10%
Black 9% 21%
Two or more races 7% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1116 North Parker Rd
Russellville, AR 72801
Phone: (479) 968-4677

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Dwight Elementary School
Russellville, AR




St John Catholic School
Russellville, AR



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT