Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Center Valley Elementary School

Public | PK-4 & ungraded | 416 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 23, 2013

This school is the best. My son is in resource and they have worked wonders with him. I give them 10 stars if I could. Couldn't ask for a better school. He loves everybody there. Keep up the great work CVE!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2012

This is a great school! The staff is very friendly and caring towards the students and the parents. All are made to feel welcome and part of this learning community. They strive for the best on many levels. We highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2010

My son loves going to Center Valley! The teachers and PTO are always so caring and involved with the students, and the principal is great too! I went ther as a kid, my son is in first grade, and my daughter will also go to this wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

The school atmosphere is wonderful. Parents are involved and love the school. Teachers are passionate about their jobs and students love their school and teachers.


Posted May 27, 2009

CVE is a top notch school. A lot has changed since the review in 2006. Automatic locking doors keep those who shouldn't be in, out. Someone is always in the office to greet. Computerized check-in and check-out system. My child is in the 1st grade and she loves it there & us too. The teachers care about each student no matter their financial makeup and our financial makeup is nowhere near the top. Academically, the teachers make sure that each child knows their subjects and then go a little further. The PTO is over the top! Making sure that the kids are treated as special individuals for their birthdays, or as they are promoted to the next grade. They ensure the extra funding needed for the school is there with great fundraising events and festivials. Our daughter excels at CVE, she is advanced and so will your child. We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2006

My children and a few of my nephews go to this school. Overall I would say this school needs to be more welcoming and cautious. Welcoming in the sense that when a parent comes no matter rich or poorer needs to not be ignored! Cautious as in, anyone could walk right in and walk right past the front office and get a child out easily without any one of them bothering to look up and ask any questions. This school lacks in hospitality but it is excellent in academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2005

Active PTO and wide range of scholastic programs including music, art and computer lab from kindergarten on up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2005

Both of my children have attended CVE since kindergarten. I can honestly say that we have had all positive experiences at this school. Every teacher my children have had they have loved. I have volunteered quite a bit at the school and always feel welcome by each teacher I come into contact with. They are very child-oriented, upbeat, and capable. Both of my children have excelled academically and I have to give most of the credit to the teachers and curriculum at CVE. The recognition that every child receives, for both academic and physical accomplishments, is a great confidence builder and incentive for them to continue to achieve. No child is overlooked; they are rewarded any time they are willing to make an effort, even if progress is slower than most. We will really miss CVE when my youngest child leaves 4th grade. But we will cherish all of our memories!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2004

The teachers at center valley are the best around but the leadership of the principal is lacking. She has old and oudated ideas on teaching and need to be replaced.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 65%
Hispanic 7% 10%
Asian 4% 1%
Black 2% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A60%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5401 Sr 124
Russellville, AR 72801
Phone: (479) 968-4540

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Dwight Elementary School
Russellville, AR


St. Johns Catholic School
Russellville, AR




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT