Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mcrae Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2014
- a parent
New this year to this school and have been very pleased with the education my children have received. When extra help was needed it was given full attention. Both of my children love this school and all their teachers.

Mcrae Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2012
- a teacher
If you are new to this area or simply uninformed about the greatness of McRae Elementary School, please come visit and meet our Christian principal and the caring and professional teachers at our campus. Mrs. Susan Stokes


Mcrae Elementary School 1

Posted July 05, 2012
- a parent
If you are moving with in Searcy or to Searcy, avoid this school! The teachers act as though they are doing you & your child a favor just by showing up to work. The principal doesn't have any control over the way teachers treat the students. In the years that my child attended this school I heard teachers make fun of students, gripe about their jobs, and sit at their computers day in and day out. I actually heard a Kindergarten teacher tell her student, "I don't want to see your face tomorrow!" The principal spends his time looking the other way and trying to brush any complaints under the rug. He allows teachers that work at his school to request certain teachers for their own children, but will not allow this from other parents. The principal's own children don't even attend Searcy public schools. They attend private school. This used to be a great school, but it's been on a downhill slide for several years now and at this point, it's a disgrace to the city of Searcy, as we generally pride ourselves on having great schools.

Mcrae Elementary School 1

Posted April 14, 2012
- a parent
I do not feel my child received a quality education at this school. Many of the teachers clearly do not enjoy their jobs and look like they would rather be almost anywhere but there. There are a few good teachers at the school, but as a parent, I felt like every year we were rolling the dice on my child's education, praying he was able to get into a "good" teacher's classroom. We moved here from another district where my son attended pre-k and Kindergarten. He began attending McRae at the beginning of his first grade year. I watched him go from a child excited about school to a child who begged to stay home. It was AWFUL! I could not be more thankful that fourth grade was moved to the middle school! I can see a world of difference in his entire attitude about school, he is learning so much, and is once again happy to get up in the morning and head out for a great day at SWMS! His teacher has that wonderful balance of caring for her students and providing quality, hands on education while maintaining excellent classroom management. We NEVER had a teacher like that at McRae and I can only think of a handful at the entire school that do have that balance.

Mcrae Elementary School 5

Posted March 19, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Mcrae Elementary School 5

Posted September 25, 2008
- a parent
McRae is a wonderful school! The teachers really care about the students. The curriculum is great! Students are taught to their needs. The school has a diverse group of students. The faculty is very open to parental involvement from volunteering in the office to volunteering in your child's classroom. The school wants parent's involvement! The principal's door is always open and the school is willing to work with parents for the best education they can help give your children. McRae is a great school!

Mcrae Elementary School 1

Posted January 24, 2008
- a parent
This school has a very poor curriculum. We recently moved here from north Texas, and the schools here are about 3 grade levels behind.

Mcrae Elementary School 5

Posted October 19, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Mcrae Elementary School 1

Posted August 31, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mcrae Elementary School 5

Posted September 13, 2005
- a parent
My child has been going to Mc Rae for 4 years now ,and the teachers have been wonderful. My daughter loves her teachers thanks Mrs. Thomas and Mrs. faith .You truley love your kids and love teaching. Mrs Booer the music teacher is so much fun my kids come home laughing and singing. Thanks for caring so much for our children. God Bless From A Thankful Parent.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mcrae Elementary School
609 West McRae, Searcy, AR  72143
(501) 268-3936
Last modified Mcrae Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mcrae Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top