Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ahlf Junior High School

Public | 7-8 & ungraded | 593 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 17, 2013

I have had issue with teachers not admitting to mistakes. I have witnessed teachers being disrespectful to students. Teachers do not respond to emails, and the principal condones it along with makes excuses for the teacher. I regret allowing my son to be in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

After many years in private school, this is the first year in public school for my daughter. Overall, I have been pleasantly surprised at her experience at Ahlf. The teachers seem knowledgable and what it takes to 'make the grade' are made very clear. I also love that they use Edline consistently so I can stay up to date.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2008

I am a current student at AJHS and would not want to go to school anywhere else! All of the people are so friendly! : )
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 24, 2007

I have an 8th grade daughter at Ahlf Jr High and I have never been happier. She started school in Searcy (k-4th) and then transferred to Little Rock were she became a problem student(fighting and being disrespectful to others). Ahlf has taken her in and challenged her. The teachers show that they teach because they love it, not because they have to. Her grades have always made her an honor student but, Searcy pushes her towards college credits. She is being treated as if she is a family member by all and that may include discipline but that is what it sometimes takes to make the children respectable adults. I could go on with the wonderful things that this school has to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

My child is an 8th grader at SJHS and we have neer been happier! She feels loved and appreciated! Our teachers are wonderful and we know that the education that she is earning will keep her very prepared for high school and then college. She is being given a very strong foundation for her educational career.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2005

So far this has been a very interesting experience for us this time around with our 2nd child. The alternative program teachers are wonderful and am quite impressed with those teachers who utilize the internet to stay in close touch with parents.Would like for other teachers to follow suit, makes it easier for some parents to stay better informed to their child's progress.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted July 29, 2004

I have a child who will be in the 8th grade starting in August '04. The 7th grade experience was a good one. The teachers were great and the level of parent involvement was a plus. This was our first year in the Searcy School District. My child has all advanced classes and the teachers were very helpful. We are looking forward to another great year in the Searcy School District and know what to expect when out second child starts school. The administration is by far the best I have seen at the Jr. High. Alot of student contact sets the standard for the overall dynamics of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2004

I have a student who is in the 7th grade. The teachers and the administration have been nothing but helpful all through the first year of being at the school. The classes are well disciplined and the teachers encourage parent involvement. Some teachers are better at instruction than others, which is the case in any school, but overall we have been very pleased with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2003

I have an 8th grader that attends ALFH Junior High School. I have spoken to other parents who are in agreement with me, when I say I am truly puzzled at how the teachers are allowed to treat students. Whatever happened to a teacher being able to say 'no talking,' or 'stay in your seats' without jumping down students' throat. I'll even go as far as to say being a bully. I will soon be able to take my child out of the Searcy public schools. That is one day I look foward to!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

321 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

321 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

321 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

299 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

299 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 65%
Black 8% 21%
Hispanic 6% 10%
Two or more races 4% 1%
Asian 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A60%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

308 West Vine
Searcy, AR 72143
Phone: (501) 268-3158

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Harding Academy
Searcy, AR







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT