Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sidney Deener Elementary School

Public | K-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 4, 2012

I am a former student of Sidney Deener and I can honestly say that the teachers and other faculty there helped me become the person I am today. I am graduating as Valedictorian of my class in just a few more weeks. I sincerely thank the faculty and staff for pushing me to strive to be my best every day. I would especially like to thank Mrs. Kelly who was my 3rd grade teacher and who helped me as a teacher and a friend to get through probably one of the hardest years of my life. I will never forget her wise advice and kind words and believe that every parent who has a chance to put their child into her classroom should do so; look where I ended up!


Posted August 10, 2011

The teachers are excellent and very dedicated to the success of their students. However, the best kept district secret is how mean the special education assistants are to their students.


Posted May 31, 2011

Sidney Deener Elementary is an excellent school. Both of my children have enjoyed attending this school. They love their teachers and have attained high grades and test scores. Our new principal as of the 2010/2011 school year is well respected by the parents, teachers, and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2009

Sidney Deener has been great for my kids. The principal made sure my kids got help when they were not doing well. The teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2009

I agree Sidney Deener is a great school. I have had 4 children attend, and one is still there. The teachers are excellent, and parent involvement is average. I agree the principal really lacks in people skills, and treats everybody like he is better than them and no respect at all is shown. He needs to go back to Westside. : (
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2009

I love Sidney Deener it identifies so many of my childs learning disabilities!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2008

Sidney Deener has a wonderful teaching staff, which is the only reason my children attend there. The principal is lacking in people skills and treats people with little respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2006

I think this school is great ! I am very proud of the school. The Teacher's are very good. and I love Mrs, Kelly's Qualities of Leadership. It's a Great School.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2006

I am very proud to say that my children attended Sidney Deener. There is a wonderful teacher/student relationship, as well as the faculty being so 'close knit'. I feel that my children have benefited greatly by being exposed to the diversity at Sidney Deener.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2006

I have 2 children that went to Deener and 1 attending currently. The teaching staff is excellent! I don't know how they do it because the leadership is very poor. The principal is more interested in competing with the other Searcy schools instead of taking care of his students and staff. And it shows. Keep up the good work teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2004

Sidney Deener Elementary School in Searcy is a great school. I have two first graders attending there. They are attending Deener because of my son's disabilities. Deener is the only Elementary School within Searcy that has a self contained special education classroom, which is the only reason my kids are there. They allowed my daughter the option to attend the same shcool her brother does, which was wonderful! My daughter's teacher is the best, and she had a terrific year! The first grade special education teacher is also great! Thanks to her, my son has learned how to read, and has advanced to 'normal' reading level for a first grader! Thank you, Sidney Deener! I will enjoy enrolling my youngest child into Kindergarten as the other two move on to 2nd grade with you!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 64%
Black 16% 21%
Hispanic 14% 10%
Two or more races 7% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

163 Cloverdale Blvd
Searcy, AR 72143
Phone: (501) 268-3850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Harding Academy
Searcy, AR





Sunshine School
Searcy, AR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT